Guides: INAF100-21: Rise of US as Pacific Power: Primary Sources

Primary Sources at Georgetown

19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East

This collection provides researchers with six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape. 1817-1901. Part of Archives Unbound.
America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
FBI records about the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW), a group of veterans opposed to the Vietnam War and one of the leading anti-war groups of the Vietnam era. Part of Archives Unbound.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929
Records from the U.S. State Department about German colonies in China, New Guinea, Samoa, and the Western Pacific from 1910 to 1929. Part of Archives Unbound.
Evangelism in India: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910
Records from the Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions about missionary work in Farukhabad, Punjab, and West India from 1833 to 1910. Part of Archives Unbound.
India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department
Records from the U.S. State Department during India and Pakistan's transition from British colony to independent states. Includes reports on economic affairs, government, and other topics. Part of Archives Unbound.
Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949
U.S. State Department files relating to the internal affairs of French Indochina (later Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia), including the Japanese occupation and the First Indochina War. Part of Archives Unbound.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
State Department reports, letters, and documents on Japan before, during, and after World War II. Includes Japanese military activities, estimates of economic production, and social attitudes. Part of Archives Unbound.
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
Files and reports from the U.S. State Department about domestic affairs and U.S. policy towards Communist and Nationalist China immediately after World War II. Part of Archives Unbound.
U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954
After the creation of the State of Vietnam (South Vietnam) in 1949, the United States began providing military, economic, and other foreign aid to South Vietnam and France. These records document the "civilian" aid provided from 1950 to 1954 by the U.S. Operations Mission.Part of Archives Unbound.

For the military assistance rendered during this period, see the records of the Military Assistance Advisory Group.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993
This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. Part of Archives Unbound.
U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964
These archives of the Military Assistance Advisory Group (MAAG) in Indochina and MAAG Vietnam record U.S. military personnel and equipment dispatched to Vietnam to assist the French and South Vietnamese in fighting the North Vietnamese and Viet Cong. Part of Archives Unbound.

For civilian aid during the early part of this period, see the records of the United States Operations Mission.
U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs
Lot files from the U.S. State Department regarding political and economic policies and affairs of countries in East and Southeast Asia from 1944 to 1958. In depth material on Cambodia, Laos, and South Vietnam. Part of Archives Unbound.
South Asia Archive
Journals, books, census reports, film booklets, and other documents covering the 18th century to the mid-20th century, principally from the Bengal region of India.
Making of the Modern World
Collection of digital facsimile images of 61,000 works of literature on economics and business published from 1450 through 1945. Covers commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Includes:
Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850
Part II, 1851-1914
World Digital Library

UNESCO's World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

The principal objectives of the WDL are to:
1. Promote international and intercultural understanding;
2. Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;
3. Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;
4. Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Provides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries. Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile format or ASCII text.