Guides: Launching Entrepreneurial Ventures: Going Public

Venture Capital

National Venture Capital Assoication - Research

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), and “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies. Print equivalents include Standard & Poor's: 'Stock Reports,' 'Company Profiles,' 'Bond Guide,' 'Corporation Records,' 'Mutual Fund Reports,' 'Security Dealers of North America,' 'Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives,' 'Industry Surveys,' and 'The Outlook.'

Proforma Statements/Norms

Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
An archive of corporate reports from the Moodys and Mergent Corporate Manuals. Provides a comprehensive history of corporate America for almost 100 years, including corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, officers and directors, and municipal debt. Users can search within and across manuals, by company name or manual year.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Finding Money

Kickstarter
"Kickstarter is a new way to fund creative projects. We believe that: A good idea, communicated well, can spread fast and wide and A large group of people can be a tremendous source of money and encouragement.
Kickstarter is powered by a unique all-or-nothing funding method where projects must be fully-funded or no money changes hands."
more...less...
crowd funding
Kiva
"We are a non-profit organization with a mission to connect people through lending to alleviate poverty. Leveraging the internet and a worldwide network of microfinance institutions, Kiva lets individuals lend as little as $25 to help create opportunity around the world."
CrunchBase
"CrunchBase is the free directory of technology companies, people, and investors that anyone can edit.... Currently, all additions and edits to CrunchBase go through an approval process before they are pushed live. We are working on ways that will allow users to make immediate changes to the site. Expect to see this type of functionality rolled out soon." CrunchBase blog
AngelList
"AngelList is a platform for startups to meet investors and recruit. Over 1500 startups have used AngelList to raise money. And startups that have raised money on AngelList have gone on to raise over $1.6 billion in subsequent rounds. Startups that have used AngelList to recruit have been introduced to over 10,000 candidates.
AngelList was started in Jan 2010 by Babak Nivi and Naval Ravikant, who also write Venture Hacks." Venture Hacks Blog
Prosper
"...On Prosper, borrowers list loan requests between $2,000 and $35,000 and individual lenders invest as little as $25 in each loan listing they select..."
more...less...
"Prosper allows people to invest in each other in a way that is financially and socially rewarding. On Prosper, borrowers list loan requests between $2,000 and $35,000 and individual lenders invest as little as $25 in each loan listing they select. In addition to credit scores, ratings, and histories, investors can consider borrowers' personal loan descriptions, endorsements from friends, and community affiliations. Prosper handles the servicing of the loan on behalf of the matched borrowers and investors."
Lending Club
Another Peer-to-Peer lending site. "Lending Club is the world's leading online credit marketplace, where investors back credit worthy borrowers in exchange for interest income"
more...less...
"Lending Club opened in 2007 with one simple mission: create a more efficient, transparent and customer-friendly alternative to the traditional banking system that offers creditworthy borrowers lower interest rates and investors better returns. We operate fully online with no branch infrastructure, and use technology to lower cost and deliver an amazing experience. Today, we're America's leading online credit marketplace, and we're radically changing the way lending operates - every day.?

SEC Document Types

SEC Forms
The Securities and Exchange Commission requires publicly traded companies to submit certain information, referred to by type of form. For example, 1933 forms refer to S-1 (IPOs), and 1934 refer to regular recurring forms like the 10-K (annual financial statements)

Launching Entrepreneurial Ventures

Finance-Specific Articles

Keeping Current

Books on the following topics

Venture Capital

Proforma Statements/Norms

Finding Money

SEC Document Types