Guides: SPAN 3000 Gateway to Linguistics: Articles

Quick Tips

Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar

HoyaSearch
Use to search across Georgetown library holdings, the Washington Research Library Consortium, and article sources.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Citations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text, comprehensive coverage of over 600 English language education journals, about 80 of which are not covered in ERIC. Also includes indexing and abstracts of monographs and yearbooks. Indexing is from 1983 to present; abstracts from 1994, and selected full text from 1996.