Guides: SPAN 3000 Gateway to Culture: Articles

Quick Tips

Use quotes when your concept has more than one word (i.e. “military coup”)
Use synonyms and play around with keywords to create broader and narrower searches (i.e. women’s roles might be feminism)
Search in English and target language (i.e. terrorism or terrorismo)
Use the filters on the left side of the database to limit format (scholarly article, news, etc.), date of publication, language, and more
Refer to GU’s tips on using Google Scholar

HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.

Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from more than 600 social science and humanities journals. Includes works published throughout the world which relate to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Most articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, though some English language periodicals are indexed.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Latino Studies This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of scholarship in Latino Studies and related topics.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Border and Migration Studies brings together resources that explore significant border areas around the world, and related themes such as transnational migration, human trafficking, and border enforcement. The collection includes a mixture of previously published and original material, including monographs, archival documents, and videos.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text literary content for researching authors and their works, literary movements, and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews. Includes the Literature Resource Center and Scribner Writers.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Citations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Collection of articles from over 180 social science journals. Disciplines covered include: anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, economics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, urban studies and more.