Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

John Carroll (1735-1815): Founder of Georgetown College

This guide highlights primary and secondary sources available in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections for research on Archbishop John Carroll

Introduction and Overview

 

Seal of John Carroll

Seal of Archbishop John Carroll, founder of Georgetown, seen in a window on the staircase at the north end of Georgetown's Healy Hall.The seal's motto, from Psalms 37:22, translates as 'Lord, Our God do not abandon us.'

 

This guide highlights primary and secondary sources available for use in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections and in the Woodstock Theological Library for research on Archbishop John Carroll. The sources listed are housed in the Georgetown University Archives, the Archives of the Maryland Province of the Society of Jesus, the Manuscripts Unit, the University Art Collection, the Woodstock College Archives and the Woodstock Theological Library. Where these resources are available online, this is indicated. However, researchers should anticipate spending more time working with physical resources than with digital surrogates. Use the links to the left to navigate through the content of this guide. 

The Booth Family Center for Special Collections is found on the 5th floor of Georgetown’s Lauinger Library. The Booth Family Center is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  Reference inquiries may be made in person, by telephone (202-687-7631) or via our email form. Booth staff are very happy to discuss research projects and to direct researchers to resources both within and outside the Center. The Woodstock Theological Library is housed on the lower level of Lauinger Library. Its staff can be contacted via this email.

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy