Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Georgetown University between 1955 and 1975

This guide highlights online sources useful for research on Georgetown University between 1955 and 1975

Publications

 

The publications listed in this section are part of Lauinger Library's general collection. They are not available online.

 

General

 

  • Curran, Robert Emmett. A history of Georgetown University.  Washington, D.C. : Georgetown University Press, 2010 

    A three volume set, this is the most comprehensive University history. Volume 1 covers 1789-1889, volume 2 covers 1889-1964, and volume 3 covers 1964-1989. Don’t overlook the appendices which provide statistics about students and student enrollments, rosters of University officials, and construction dates for campus buildings.

 

  • Clinton, Bill. My life.  New York : Knopf, 2004

    Bill Clinton graduated from the Foreign Service School in 1968.  Chapters 9-13 cover his years at Georgetown. The autobiography includes descriptions of faculty including Otto Hentz, S.J., Joseph Sebes, S.J., Robert Irving and Carroll Quigley. Chapter 13 includes descriptions of the impact of the assassination of Martin Luther King and the riots which followed in D.C., as well as the assassination of Robert Kennedy.

 

  • O'Neill, Paul R. Georgetown University. Charleston, S.C. : Arcadia Publishing, 2003. 

    Black and white photographs arranged chronologically, accompanied by with explanatory captions. Coverage of the 1950s to 1970s is confined to around 15 pages.

 

 

School-specific

 

  • Sullivan, Anne, ed.  Women of Georgetown College : the first quarter century.  Washington, D.C. : Georgetown College, Georgetown University, 1995

    Contains brief reflections from early women students in Georgetown College beginning in 1969, on their experiences.

     

  • Tillman, Seth P.  Georgetown's School of Foreign Service : the first 75 years. Washington, D.C. : Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University, 1994

    A two volume history. Volume 1 provides a chronological narrative of school history. Volume 2 presents the text of writings/speeches of individuals significant to the history of the school, beginning with Edmund A. Walsh, S.J.

 

 

 

 

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy