Georgetown University Seismological Observatory

 

The archival materials listed here are intended as a starting point for research. They are available for use in the University Archives in the Booth Family center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Lauinger Library; request them via the Aeon request system.

Researchers are also encouraged to explore the descriptions of other records in the University Archives collection through the Georgetown Archival Resources site. Use the search box or the search icon in the gray row at the top of the screen to begin. Additional search words can be added to the results screen using the Filter Results box to the right. In most cases, materials described on Georgetown Archival Resources site have not been digitized, so an in-person visit will be required. After researchers identify materials of interest, they can use the Aeon request system to request them and to schedule a research appointment. 

As with any archival research project, please note that not all materials in the University Archives relevant to the Seismological Observatory are described on the Georgetown Archival Resources site; Archives staff are happy to discuss research projects and to direct researchers to additional resources (see contact information in the Welcome section of this guide.)

 

 

This group of records includes seismological dispatches and newspaper clippings. Click on the links in the Collection organization pane to the right to see descriptions of the contents. Note that you can “grab'' the left side of that pane with your cursor and drag it to the left to expand the pane and enable you to read the full titles of the links without clicking into them.  

 

 

These records, part of the original University Archives subject filing system, consist of a variety of types of material (correspondence, clippings, publications, etc.) relating to the Seismological Observatory. These are filed chronologically.

  

 

This includes a series of publications titled The Registration of Earthquakes and Dispatches on Earthquakes dating from 1917 to 1925 (with some gaps).

 

 

Material relating to seismology is identified in the descriptions of some of the correspondence files in this collection. This collection is housed in the Georgetown University Library manuscripts unit. It can be requested via the Aeon request system and used in the same research room as the University Archives materials on this list.

 

 

Box 1, folder 1 includes a Triennial Report of the Extra-Curricular Activities of Georgetown University for 1922 which has a section on the Seismological Observatory.

 

 

This includes clippings about the installation of new seismographs.

 

 

Images within this collection are arranged by subject: campus; buildings; schools; events; student groups; and individuals (student, staff and faculty). Most of the images date from before 1970 and most are black and white photographic prints. No inventory is currently available.

Images relating to seismology can be found in the Observatory Instruments section, the Oversize section, as well as in the Individuals section in folders for Father Frederick Sohon and Father Bernard McConnell. One of these photographs can be viewed online.

Please note that researchers will be given gloves to wear when handling any photographic materials.

 

 

Box 9, folder 971 contains material relating to the Jesuit Seismological Association, 1928-1966.