Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Books on Georgetown University History

This guide presents an overview of books on Georgetown University history which are often useful starting points for research projects

Books on specific Georgetown schools

 

The following books provide about the history of specific schools at Georgetown and are an excellent starting point for many research projects. Where they are available in the general collection of Lauinger Library, links to their call numbers are included. They are all (with one noted exception) available in the University Archives. The Archives' copies do not circulate; request them via the Aeon request system

 

Dental School

 

  • Murto, Charles B. History of Georgetown University School of Dentistry, 1901-1977, March 28, 1878. Unpublished. Found in  Dahlgren History Room: Reference Files, box 1. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system

 

  • Giuliani, Judith. Commemorative Portrait: Georgetown University School of Dentistry, ca. 1990. Unpublished. Found in Dahlgren History Room: Reference Files, box 1. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system

 

Georgetown College

 

 

Foreign Service School

 

  • de Countinho, Joaquim. History of the Foreign Service School. Unpublished

    Handwritten notes by Professor de  Coutinho who was a founding member of the SFS faculty and retired in 1954 with Emeritus status. Found in University Archives Reference Files: Foreign Service School. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system)

 

  • Tillman, Seth P.  Georgetown's School of Foreign Service : the first 75 years. Washington, D.C. : Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University, 1994

    A two volume history. Volume 1 provides a chronological narrative of school history. Volume 2 presents the text of writings/speeches of individuals significant to the history of the school, beginning with Edmund A. Walsh, S.J.

 

  • SFS 100: A Century of Service. School of Foreign Service, 2019 

    The focus on this publication is photographs and stories about individuals and ideas which have shaped SFS’s identity and impact (not yet available in the University Archives)

 

Law School

 

 

Medical School

 

  • History of the Medical School prepared and read by the Dean at the opening of the session, Oct. 4th, 1886. Unpublished. Found in Old Archives: Medical School, GTA GTA000293. Box 1, folder 4.5. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system

 

  • Condensed History of the Medical School, compiled by George M. Kober after 1899. Unpublished. Found in Old Archives: Medical School, GTA GTA000293. Box 1, folder 1. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system

 

  • History of the Medical School of Georgetown University by Joseph T. Durkin, S.J., undated. Unpublished. Found in Old Archives: Medical School, GTA GTA000293. Box 1, folder 2. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system

 

  • Medical School History by Homer Twigg, undated. Unpublished. Found in Old Archives: Medical School, GTA GTA000293. Box 1, folder 4. Available for use in the University Archives; request via the Aeon request system

 

 

Nursing School

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy