Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Books on Georgetown University History

This guide presents an overview of books on Georgetown University history which are often useful starting points for research projects

Introduction and Overview

This guide presents an annotated list of books which are frequently useful starting points for research into Georgetown University history. It has sections on general histories, school-specific histories, memoirs, and sports histories. Use the tabs to the left to navigate through the content. Most of the books listed are available in the general collection of Lauinger Library; links to their call numbers are included. They are also available for use in the University Archives. The Archives' copies do not circulate; request them for use in the University Archives via the Aeon request system

The University Archives is located in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Georgetown’s Lauinger Library. The Booth Family Center is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Reference inquiries may be made in person, by telephone (202-687-7631) or via our email formArchives staff are very happy to discuss research projects and to direct researchers to resources both within and outside the University Archives.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy