Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Research on Alumni Using the Georgetown University Archives

This guide identifies and provides an overview of resources available in the University Archives which are frequently used in historical or genealogical research projects involving former students

Introduction and Overview

This guide identifies and provides an overview of resources available in the University Archives which are frequently used in historical or genealogical research on former Georgetown College/University students. Use the tabs to the left to navigate through the content. Resources that are available online are identified. However, researchers should anticipate spending much more time working with physical materials than with digital surrogates. All of the resources described below are available for use in the University archives; request them via the Aeon request system

Researchers are also encouraged to explore the descriptions of other materials in the University Archives collection through the Georgetown Archival Resources site. Use the search box or the search icon in the gray row at the top of the screen to begin exploring. Additional search words can be added to the results screen using the Filter Results box to the right. Note that not all resources in the University Archives are described on the Georgetown Archival Resources site; Archives staff are very happy to discuss research projects and to direct researchers to additional resources.

The University Archives is located in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Georgetown’s Lauinger Library. The Booth Family Center is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  Reference inquiries may be made in person, by telephone (202-687-7631) or via our email form

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy