Al-Monitor offers expert news and commentary on the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. The Pro package includes access to Memos (focused expert analysis on a topic), Newsletters (2x/daily on an industry sector), and Trend Reports (data-driven in-depth reports).
Covering primarily the 1950s and 1960s, Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements provides access to primary source documents that focus on how ordinary citizens in the smaller communities viewed, participated in and lived through this historical era. When completed in 2025, the collection will include letters, general correspondence, logs, demonstration plan outlines, transportation logs and plans, meetings, worship services, photographs, newsletters, news reels, interviews and musical recordings from Black, Latine, Native American and Asian American Pacific Islander communities.
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
This primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
This primary source collection documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. In addition, there are files about countries on other continents, such as the Soviet Union, the United States (with a focus on Latino and Chicano theater), and various countries in Europe and Africa. The collection covers theater groups, festivals, performances, and persons (actors, playwrights, directors).
A journal dedicated to publishing "high-quality, original peer-reviewed articles which advance theoretical and empirical understanding of emotions in social life." Affiliated with the European Sociological Association's (ESA) Research Network on Sociology of Emotions (RN11). Published by Bristol University Press. ISSN 2631-6900
The Fannie Lou Hamer papers contain more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items. Part of Archives Unbound.
The Kotobarabia E-Library delivers over 3,500 contemporary and classic Arabic books from Egypt in e-book form for the first time. Works in the collection are divided into 29 thematic categories and several subcategories. The books in this collection are full-image and are also full-text searchable.
Collection of e-books in Arabic, from scientific and scholarly works to contemporary novels.
The Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance Collection is an electronic archive of books published 1820-1914 from Egypt, Syria, and other regions of the Islamic World. The collection is comprised of over 2,500 titles in the humanities and the sciences.
3,000 Arabic titles published 1820 - 1914, on a variety of subjects, mostly from Egypt and Syria.
Lived Places Publishing publishes applied, concise course readings that help faculty illuminate the experience of social identity and the lived places we share. Lived Places Publishing is led by collection editors with deep experience as researchers and teachers in their area of expertise.
A comprehensive database providing legislative and regulatory insights, data tools and resources for policy research. On-demand, graphic visualization library translates complex policy issues and data sets into infographics. The Document Drawer repository offers primary source documentation. Limited state coverage also included.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) has tools for every step of the research process in the social sciences, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SRM includes reference entries for hundreds of research methods, over 1,000 books providing in-depth treatments on using various methods, and cases, datasets, and short video demonstrating and applying methods in scholarship.
This collection is from the Records of the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Military Operations (ODCSOPS) relating to the use of Federal marshals, U.S. Troops, and the federalized National Guard in Oxford, Mississippi, 1962-1963, on the occasion of James Meredith's enrollment at the University of Mississippi. The records cover events such as the riots of September 30 and Governor Barnett's efforts to obstruct Federal marshals, as well as daily events on campus and Meredith's progress under integration. Part of Archives Unbound.
This publication covers President Eisenhower's use of Federal troops and the Arkansas National Guard in the Little Rock integration crisis of 1957 -1958. The operation is detailed from the planning for intervention prior to deployment, up to the withdrawal of troops at the end of the school year. Part of Archives Unbound.
This collection reveals details of the Federal Government's plans to militarily intervene in the 1963 March on Washington (codenamed Operation "Steep Hill") in the event the march became disorderly. Part of Archives Unbound.