Skip to main content
Search Google Scholar

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Women's Manuscript Collections: Home

Women's archives and manuscripts collections at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections, Georgetown University Library, Washington, D.C.

About This Guide

Welcome to the women's manuscript collections at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections!

Please feel free to dive in and start exploring. There is no particular order to the contents of each page -- just follow your interests and don't forget to scroll all the way to the bottom!

This guide will be edited and added to as new information surfaces and as new collections are acquired; so please visit often!

Information about the women's collections can be found via hot-linked finding aids* or by contacting the archivist of this research guide. 

Access to collection materials is by appointment.

* Note: Updates to finding aid links may be in progress. If you cannot link to a finding aid, please contact the guide's archivist.

Nineteenth Century Women

Frances Patterson and friend, nineteenth-century women travelers

Suffragists

Edith Houghton Hooker (1879-1948), suffragist. (James Brown Scott papers, GTM660503)

Janet Richards (1859-1948), Washington, D.C. journalist, advocate of women's rights and education, and intrepid traveler; she was also a friend of suffragists Susan B. Anthony ((1820-1906) and Clara Barton (1821-1912). Letters from both suffragists are among Richards' papers (GTM540129).

Doris Stevens (1892-1963), suffragist. (James Brown Scott papers, GTM660503)

National Woman's Party founded in 1916 by Alice Paul and Lucy Burns to advocate for women's voting rights.  (James Brown Scott papers, GTM660503)

Madeline Vinton Dahlgren (1825-1889), anti-suffragist. (GTMGamms122)

 

 

Catholic Women

Educators & Humanitarians

Poets & Novelists

Katherine Biddle (b 1890-1977), American poet (GTMGamms250)

Clinch Calkins (1895-1968), American poet, novelist (GTM000622)

Shirley Hazzard (1931-  ), American novelist (GTMGamms421)

Elizabeth Jennings (1926-2001), British poet (GTMGamms 173 and GTMGamms136)

Mary O’Hara (1885-1980), American children’s novelist (My Friend Flicka) (GTMGamms166)

Edith Sitwell (1887-1964) British poet, critic (GTM820630 and GTM851119)

Antonia White (1899-1980), British author; and Carmen Callil, founder and editor of Virago Press (GTM120607)

See also notable women novelists in the following collections --

Beatrice Harradan (1864-1936), British writer and suffragette; Sheila Kaye-Smith (1887-1956), British writer; Ethel Mary Savage (aka E. M. Dell) (1881-1939), British romance novelist (in Sir Newman Flower papers, GTMGamms300)

 

Artists & Performers

Editors & Journalists

Lisa Sergio and Martin Luther King, Jr.

Lisa Sergio and Martin Luther King, Jr.

Important American women in journalism and publishing. Finding aids available on Digital Georgetown. (Note: Collection identifier in parentheses.) --

Aimee Ernesta Drinker [Bullitt] Barlow (1892- ?), writer and broadcaster. (GTM011118)

Anna Brady (1901-1999), Vatican journalist (GTMGamms330)

Dorothy Day (1897-1980), Catholic journalist and social activist. Letters, publications and photographs located in numerous collections. (Search Manuscripts Repository @ Digital Georgetown.)

Marguerite Tjader Harris (1901-1986), editor (GTM781231)

Julie Kernan (1901-1981), editor (GTMGamms181)

Clare Boothe Luce (1903-1987), journalist (GTMGamms265)

Lisa Sergio (1905-1989), journalist, radio broadcaster (GTMGamms172)

Dorothy Thompson (1893-1961), journalist and radio broadcaster; named by Time, in 1939, the most influential woman in America second to Eleanor Roosevelt. Letters, publications and photographs located in numerous collections. (Search Manuscripts Repository @ Digital Georgetown.)

Alice B. Toklas (1877-1967), editor; John L. Brown papers 1 (GTMGamms167)

Manuscripts Archivist

Lisette Matano's picture
Lisette Matano
Contact:
Booth Family Center for Special Collections, Georgetown University Library, Washington, D.C.

Related Research Guides

Get Answers About Secondary Sources