This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
GU Only GU & Consortium Worldwide
Google Scholar Journal Finder
 

Music  

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.georgetown.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Get Answers

 

Reference Universe

Search across print and online encyclopedias.

Enter your search terms:

Quick Links

Use the tabs above to find specific types of Music resources.

Four images, of stage performances, dance, music

  • International Index to Music Periodicals
    Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular music periodicals from over 20 countries. Indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in New York Times and Washington Post. Records from 1996 forward contain abstracts.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound
    Electronic collection of music, songs, and aural traditions produced with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. It includes a variety of styles including folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, American Indian, international, jazz, classical, Broadway, children's, and spoken words and sounds.
  • Oxford Music Online
    Essential starting resource of articles on musics worldwide
  • Music Online (Alexander Street)
    Offers audio recordings, scores, music reference, and video. Indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, and ensembles.
  • RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale)
    Draws from periodical articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings. Corresponds to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature.
 

About Music Library Collections at Georgetown

MUSIC

GENERAL OBJECTIVES: To support faculty research and undergraduate instruction for a minor in music (history, performance and theory). Currently in expansion, the

department intends to offer a unique program that concentrates on the history of music in the United States, exploring not only its colonial connections with European traditions and

contributions from indigenous and immigrant communities, but also the creolization of musical language and culture and the commercial and technological configurations that have

made the United States a vital place of musical production on the world stage. A major in American music and an interdisciplinary major in American musical theater are planned.

Music is part of the Department of Art, Music, and Theater, which also offers an Inter-Arts minor with a concentration in any of its constituent arts.

 

SCOPE OF COVERAGE: Language: Primarily English. Geography: Primary interest in American and Western European music. The program specializes in all forms of American

music, including musicals, pop, hip-hop, jazz, folk, rock, country, film, and concert hall music. Chronology: Primary interest in music of the 18th-20th centuries, including classical and

other forms, though all periods are represented.

 

TYPES OF MATERIALS: Primarily books and journals; sound recordings; printed scores; microforms; electronic resources

 

INTERDISCIPLINARY RELATIONS: Philosophy, history, American studies, women's studies, art history, drama, theater

 

OTHER RESOURCES: The Special Collections division holds a number of significant original music manuscripts and letters from composers, primarily in the Leon Robbin

Collection, the continued growth of which is supported by a substantial endowment fund. It also holds a number of manuscripts by Sesame Street musical founder Joe Raposo and

other items in the Biddle Papers, the Paul Hume Papers, Murphy Papers, the Australian Music Collection, and the Gloetzner Collection, among others. The totality of these resources

is quite out of scale with the main library collection.

 

OTHER FACTORS: Course offerings are still limited; current collection is uneven. Increased holdings needed. The streaming server may eventually provide access to all media on

Reserve for a course but currently serves only large classes (35 or more students). Until the more robust streaming server is available, purchasing multiple copies of media titles may

be warranted to provide timely access for large classes.

Your Endangered Generalist

Profile Image
Will Wheeler
Contact Info
Lauinger Library - ask at reference

202/687-6818
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip