Guides: Government & Business Relations: Home

Congressional Hearings and Bill Tracking

Govtrack.us
Govtrack is an open-source project that tracks legislation, using Web 2.0 technology to deliver RSS feeds and email updates on pending activity. Look up members of Congress, search and browse bills and resolutions, find congressional voting records, or follow postings on the Govtrack blog.
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
Congress.gov
formerly Thomas.gov
This resource from the Library of Congress allows users to search for: Bills, Resolutions; Activity in Congress; Congressional Record; Schedules, Calendars; Committee Information; Presidential Nominations; and Treaties, some beginning with the 93rd Congress (1973) - present. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.

Coverage dates for legislative information in Congress.gov are available here.

Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks

Policy Commons - Global Think Tanks contains papers from several research institutes and NGOs from around the world.
Digital Government Hub
The Digital Government Hub is a dynamic, open-source reference library for anyone using design, data, and technology to improve and enhance government service delivery. Maintained by Georgetown University's Beeck Center for Social Impact + Innovation.
Policy File Index
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
National Journal Group
This group of databases provides very current news and analysis of politics, policy and government topics. The suite of titles consists of American Health Line, Congress Daily, Greenwire, The Hotline and Technology Daily. National Journal Group Inc.'s online sources provide briefings that are updated on a daily or weekly basis with a focus on news from Washington and Capitol Hill.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
An annual codification of the regulations of the Federal government. It is completely revised each year to reflect regulations currently in effect. New regulations first appear in the daily Federal Register and then are codified in the CFR. An electronic version is available on GPO Access (1996-) and HeinOnline (1938-).
Federal Register
Published daily by the Federal government containing new and proposed regulations (rules) of the executive agencies, e.g. IRS, EPA, FDA and etc. The President's proclamations and executive orders may also be found here. All final rules will later be published by subject (titles 1-50) in the Code of Federal Regulations. Published electronically by GPO Access (1996-) and HeinOnline (1936-).
Federal Register: What It Is and How to Use It
An introduction to the development of the regulatory process, the organization of the Federal Register, and the relationship between it and the Code of Federal Regulations and Public Laws. Search tools are also discussed.

Regulations.gov
This is an online source for U.S. government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies. It is committed to improving citizens' access to and participation in the federal regulatory process. You can: Search for a regulation such as a proposed rule, final rule or Federal Register (FR) notice; Submit a comment on a regulation or on another comment; Submit an application, petition or adjudication document; and Quickly access regulations that are popular, newly posted or closing soon.

Yes

I have some questions

Yes: 4 votes (100%)

No: 0 votes (0%)

I have some questions: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 4