Guides: Asian Religions: References

Database

Encyclopedia of the Qu'ran
Almost 1,000 entries cover the concepts, personalities, place names, and cultural history of the Qur'an. Includes extended essays on the most important themes of Qur'anic studies. Print edition complete in 6 vols.
Call number:
LAU Ref Stacks BP133 .E53 2001

Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE (EI3) This link opens in a new window
Newest edition of Ency. of Islam (still in progress). Edited by Gudrun Kramer, et al.
"with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship... The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world."
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "all titles" on the search page; to limit your search to only one title, select "this title". See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how Arabic, etc. words are romanized.

Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen

Translation of: Lexikon der östlichen Weisheitslehren

Location: LAU Woodstock Ref 294.03 SCH79, E5 Library Use Only

Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations

Covers ancient Asia from the Indus Valley Civilization in 3000 BCE through the Cambodian empires of Funan, Chenla, and Angkor that lasted until the 15th Century. Includes 900 detailed A-Z entries that treat archaeological sites, religions, agricultural and economic development, personalities, warfare, trade, and political institutions.

Location: LAU Ref Stacks DS 12 .H5 2004

Encyclopedia of Asian History

Short articles by scholars covering all areas of Asian history, includes brief bibliographies. A detailed subject index and a useful synoptic outline appear at the end of volume four.

Location: LAU Ref Stacks DS 31 .E53 1988

Chronologies

Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture

Brief essays introduce historical periods and give background to entries on important events in the history of East, South, Southeast, and Central Asian countries, from earliest times to the present (1998). Arts, culture, thought, religion, science-technology, economics, and everyday life have entries as well as political events. Political Chronology of Central, South, and East Asia (Ref. DS 327.5 .P65 2001) and Political Chronology of South-East Asia and Oceania (Ref. DS 525.7 .P65 2001) are devoted to political events.

Location: LAU Ref Stacks DS 33 .C63 2000