Guides: WRIT 1150 (Seifert): Writing &amp; Culture Seminar: Home

Literature Liaison & Reference Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Research Consultations are available in person and via Zoom. Click Schedule Appointment to reserve a time. Email me if you need an alternate time.

202-687-7595

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Disability Studies, English Literatures, Film & Media Studies, Medical Humanities, Medieval Studies, Philosophy & Ethics, Primary Sources, Public Humanities

Finding Books

HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.

Library Maps & Call Number Locations
Interlibrary Loan
Use to request materials not already available through Georgetown or the consortium. Click here for more information.

Finding Articles

General Databases: These are interdisciplinary and contain both scholarly and popular sources.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.

Subject-Specific Databases: These are specific to particular academic disciplines and reflect the scholarship and interests of those disciplines.

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Ebsco Education This link opens in a new window
Provides users with an ability to search all of the Ebsco Education databases from one search form. Databases include: ERIC, Education Full Text, Education Source, and Educational Administration Abstracts.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.

5 Tips for Searching Google Effectively

Google's Advanced Search screen provides a number of ways to limit and refine your search. You can also use the following advanced search techniques in the basic Google search:

Use quotation marks to get exact wording: "health inequities"
Use a minus sign or hyphen to omit words from your search: vaccines -influenza
Use OR to add options: healthcare OR medical care
Use site: to limit to specific domains: health inequities site: twitter.com
Use site: plus a country code to search by geographic area: refugee site: FR