Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INAF 180 Interface of Humans and Nature

A guide for conducting research at the nexus of science and policy

Welcome!

This course guide identifies recommended databases to use for your annotated bibliographies and other assignments for your class. 

Please contact Clarissa Ihssen with questions you have regarding the research process on this or any research assignment related to environmental science and policy. If you need help with a different type of topic, I'm always happy to connect you with a subject librarian with relevant expertise. 

The following guides might also help connect you to useful research resources:

To learn about accessing library resources off-campus and how to link your Google Scholar to Georgetown University Library, please visit the below guide.

What Is a Database?

The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles.  They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.

TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results.  If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors.  They often suggest other good words to use in your search.  Also look for "Find more like this" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy