Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Distance Learning Services & Resources: Linking to eResources

Create Links to GUL eResources

Frequently Asked Question: How do I create links to Georgetown University Library eResources (including articles and ebooks) to embed into course syllabi, Canvas/ BlackBoard, etc.?

Answer: Upon locating a GUL eResource, the link identified in the browser address bar is not a permanent link to the content. Rather most research databases generate permanent links or use digital object identifiers (DOI) which point back to the online content. For step-by-step directions, please see the boxes below. 

Fair Use Guidelines: Generally speaking, faculty and instructional designers may assume that if GUL subscribes to a database or journal available in electronic format, they can point to it or its articles for a class. Access to the Library's licensed resources is restricted to current Georgetown students, employees, and faculty with NetIDsGUL tries to secure the rights to use materials in the classroom when negotiating licenses. It is best, whenever possible, to provide a link to the resource from the library's database, rather than uploading a PDF in order to avoid any potential copyright issues. Downloading or making additional copies of a work may violate Fair Use.Linking to articles within a licensed database or journal (except for Harvard Business School publications) is often the best way to include them without the need for additional permission. The Library’s Journal Finder includes a "View Terms of Use" link. This link leads to a page with information regarding the use of each resource.

Visit Copyright at Georgetown University for additional information. 

NOTE: Harvard Business School (HBS) publications are the one major exception to this rule. Although they are available electronically through the Library, HBS articles  may not be used in classes without additional permission. This limitation is clearly indicated on each article. Faculty should visit Harvard Business Publishing for Educators

 

EBSCOhost & ProQuest Database Directions

Some research databases, including EBSCO and ProQuest, automatically generate permanent or stable links for you to copy and embed.

EBSCOhost:

1. After you have located your desired source in EBSCO, notice the Tools options along the right side. Select “Cite”. This will provide you with a full citation for the source. Copy and paste the citation (following the style of your choice) into your working document (i.e. syllabus or Course Management System).

2. Next, select “Permalink”. Copy and paste the permanent link to the resource into your document. 

EXAMPLE CITATION & LINK:

Chuetz, J., Meltzer, R., & Been, V. (2009). 31 Flavors of Inclusionary Zoning: Comparing Policies From San Francisco, Washington, DC, and Suburban Boston. Journal Of The American Planning Association, 75(4), 441-456. http://proxy.library.georgetown.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=aph&AN=44431349&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

ProQuest

1. After you have located your desired source in ProQuest, locate the grey legend and select “Cite”. This will provide you with a full citation for the source. Copy and paste the citation (following the style of your choice) into your working document (i.e. syllabus or Course Management System).

2. Next notice that it defaults to the “Full text” tab. Locate and select the tab labeled “Abstract/ Details.”  From the Abstract/ Detail page, navigate down the screen and locate the field labeled “Document URL.” Copy and paste the Document URL into your document.

EXAMPLE CITATION & LINK:

Chuetz, J., Meltzer, R., & Been, V. (2009). 31 Flavors of Inclusionary Zoning: Comparing Policies From San Francisco, Washington, DC, and Suburban Boston. Journal Of The American Planning Association, 75(4), 441-456. http://proxy.library.georgetown.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/229652307?accountid=11091

 

SEE PDF HANDOUTS BELOW 

eContent with Digital Object Identifiers (DOI)

Articles can be difficult to bookmark or link, since not all vendors/ publishers offer permanent links. However most electronic articles are now assigned a digital object identifier (DOI). A DOI is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content and provide a persistent link to its location on the Internet. All DOI numbers begin with a 10 and contain a prefix and a suffix separated by a slash.

Example DOI: 10.1080/01944360903146806

To link to an article with an assigned DOI, you will need to combine the Georgetown Proxy prefix:

http://proxy.library.georgetown.edu/login?url= 

and

http://dx.doi.org/

and

DOI

Example Link: http://proxy.library.georgetown.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/01944360903146806

Providing Required Readings in Online Courses

OneSearch Directions

1. Navigate to the Library homepage (www.library.georgetown.edu) and locate the desired resource using the Hoya Search box.

2. From the search results page, select the quotation mark icon ( " ). This will provide you with a full citation for the source. Copy and paste the citation (following the style of your choice) into your working document (i.e. syllabus or Course Management System).

3. Next, select “Preview” and locate “Permanent Link”. Copy and paste the permanent link to the resource into your document. 

SEE PDF HANDOUT BELOW 

Linking to eBooks in BlackBoard/ Canvas

Return to GEORGE Home

 

 

  1. Locate your desired source in George (www.catalog.library.georgetown.edu).  HINT: Select Material Type – and limit to E-BOOKS. 

  2. Once you have located the desired title, click the hyperlinked title and select "Permanent URL for this record." Copy and paste the permanent URL from your browser address bar into your document.  

Example Permanent Link from George:  http://catalog.library.georgetown.edu/record=b5691105~S4

 

GUL Proxy

If the article does not have a DOI but the database or journal provides another type of permanent link, use: 

http://proxy.library.georgetown.edu/login?url= 

This URL prefix initiates the authentication process necessary to access restricted resources. It will trigger the off-campus login, which allows you and other users to  identify as Georgetown affiliates. 

Note: It is important to test your links from off-campus after creation.  If the link is correctly formed and you should have access and you are still encountering difficulties, contact scslibrary@georgetown.edu or eresources@georgetown.edu 

Off Campus Login Page

Click the Off-Campus Access Icon to Log In

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy