Your Librarian
The Assignment
This guide is intended to provide a strong starting point for your final project research, helping you identify key sources for evidence and support of your topic and policy recommendations.
From the assignment description: "Practical policy exercise. The practical policy exercise will be made up of several components and due dates worth a total of 80% of a student’s final grade. This exercise will be informed both by class readings and discussion and also outside research. Depending on the topic chosen, this research could include any combination of statutes and caselaw, executive branch memoranda, congressional reports and testimony, advocacy and nonprofit organization position papers, and academic publications, among other sources."
Best Bets
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAn academic product from LexisNexis, this database includes U.S. and State court caselaw, U.S. and State statutes, and U.S. executive branch regulatory law. Go to the "Advanced Search" > "Legal" tab to browse and search these documents.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
