Home - CCTP 850 - Digital Presence - Guides at Georgetown University

CCT Librarian

Jess O'Toole

Email Me

Subjects: Art, Art History & Museum Studies, Communications, Education, Psychology, Sociology

Related Guides

Communication, Culture, and Technology
by Jess O'Toole Last Updated Jan 20, 2023 74 views this year
Companies
by Jennifer Boettcher Last Updated Mar 17, 2023 407 views this year
Industries
by Jennifer Boettcher Last Updated Feb 24, 2023 611 views this year

Helpful Business Databases - For News & Trade Literature

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of contemporary business, including accounting, taxation, foreign trade, advertising, banking, public relations, government regulations, real estate, acquisitions and mergers, insurance, communications, management, marketing, entertainment, healthcare, hospitality, tourism, oil and computers.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
Emerald Intelligence + Fulltext This link opens in a new window
This source has over 130 full-text journals published by MCB University Press. Subjects include: general management, human resources, information management, library & information services, marketing, property, engineering, quality, training & education, operations, production & economics. Most of the journals have an international perspective.
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of management and organizations.
To search only the Management & Organization Studies collection, go to "Search Within," select "Search from a list of disciplines" and select "Management & Organization Studies" from the 'Social Sciences & Humanities" section.
These peer-reviewed journals cover such subjects as organizational behavior, organizational development, strategic management, organizational theory, industrial psychology, human resource (HR) management, business ethics, corporate social responsibility (CRS), environmental management, leadership, group processes, organizational communication, management learning, management education, training, industrial relations (IR), labor economics, international & cooperative management, entrepreneurship, small business management, E-commerce, non-profit management, compensation & benefits, environmental management, service organizations, hospitality, travel, tourism, marketing, macromarketing, social marketing, marketing education, marketing theory, service marketing, sociology of work, business & government relations, critical theory, simulation, action research, research design, and research methodologies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

Company Profiles and Industry Information

Wal-Mart Stores Exxon Mobil Chevron General Electric Bank of America Corp. ConocoPhillips AT&T Ford Motor J.P. Morgan Chase & Co. Hewlett-Packard Berkshire Hathaway Citigroup McKesson Verizon Communications General Motors American International Group Cardinal Health CVS Caremark Wells Fargo International Business Machines UnitedHealth Group Procter & Gamble Kroger AmerisourceBergen Costco Wholesale Valero Energy Archer Daniels Midland Boeing U.S. Postal Service Home Depot Target WellPoint Walgreen Johnson & Johnson State Farm Insurance Cos. Medco Health Solutions Microsoft United Technologies Dell Goldman Sachs Group Pfizer Best Buy Marathon Oil Lowe's United Parcel Service Lockheed Martin Dow Chemical Sears Holdings International Assets Holding PepsiCo Bunge MetLife Safeway Supervalu Kraft Foods Freddie Mac Sysco Apple Walt Disney Cisco Systems Comcast FedEx Northrop Grumman Intel Aetna New York Life Insurance Prudential Financial Caterpillar Sprint Nextel Allstate General Dynamics Morgan Stanley Liberty Mutual Insurance Group Coca-Cola Humana Honeywell International Abbott Laboratories News Corp. HCA Sunoco Hess Ingram Micro Fannie Mae Time Warner Johnson Controls Delta Air Lines Merck DuPont Tyson Foods American Express TIAA-CREF CHS Rite Aid Enterprise GP Holdings Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Philip Morris International Raytheon Express Scripts Hartford Financial Services Travelers Cos. Publix Super Markets Amazon.com Staples Google Macy's International Paper Oracle 3M Deere McDonald's Schlumberger Tech Data Motorola Fluor Eli Lilly Coca-Cola Enterprises Bristol-Myers Squibb Northwestern Mutual DIRECTV Emerson Electric Nationwide TJX AMR U.S. Bancorp GMAC PNC Financial Services Group Nike Murphy Oil Kimberly-Clark Alcoa Plains All American Pipeline Cigna Aflac Time Warner Cable United Services Automobile Association J.C. Penney Exelon Kohl's Whirlpool

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Company Dossier (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Company Dossier covers more than 35 million global companies, both public and private. Under Reference link, information comes from Hoover's, Disclosure, Datamonitor, Extel, Vickers, and SGA Executive Tracker.
Includes company description and history; key financials; executive, structure, subsidiaries, auditor, and bank information news by region, topic and publication; patents, trademarks, and brands; and litigation.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- US Business Environment Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) This link opens in a new window
A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries

Another tip: Check the company's website and look at the mission/vision statement or strategic plan, if there is one.