Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Start Your Research

This guide will help you get started with your topic, find books and articles, evaluate sources, and use library services.

Library Tour

Computers & WiFi

Services and Collections

How can I get research help?

Ask Us using chat, email, research consultations and more.

I have a question about borrowing, fines, Consortium loans, course reserves.

Stop by the Access Services desk on the third floor of Lauinger. Remember you may also check your library account within HoyaSearch.

What primary sources does the library have?

One major resource is the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the fifth floor of Lauinger Library. The Center contains rare books, manuscripts, the University archives, and the art collection.

What resources does the library have for multimedia projects?

Visit the Gelardin New Media Center on the first floor of Lauinger Library. Experienced staff is available to help connect you with the knowledge and tools that you need to create multimedia projects. Borrow equipment, use production studios, learn how to use multimedia software and equipment.

Does the library have a Maker Hub?

Yes! Open to all students, staff and faculty, the Maker Hub promotes innovation and hands-on learning through workshops, curricular engagement, and one-on-one project mentorship. Tools and resources include a 3-D printer, laser cutter, electronics, and more. Located on the first floor of Lauinger Library.

Where can I go for science research help and resources?

Visit the Blommer Science Library, located on the third floor of the Reiss Science Building (campus map).  Blommer provides information and research services for undergraduate and graduate programs in biology, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, and physics. 

I'm working on a theology project.

The Woodstock Theological Library, located on the lower level of Lauinger Library, is especially strong in the areas of biblical studies, spirituality, church history, the Jesuits, liturgy, and the social aspects of Christianity. It also has an outstanding rare book collection.

How can I get feedback on my writing?

Contact the Georgetown University Writing Center, located on the second floor of Lauinger Library. Graduate and undergraduate students trained in teaching writing are available to assist you at any stage of the writing process.

I need help with my NetID/password, printing, or other University computing.

Stop by the UIS Help Desk on the third floor of Lauinger or call 202-687-4949.

What about other Georgetown University libraries?

Take advantage of the collections of these other GU libraries: Bioethics Research Library, Dahlgren Memorial Library (medical), Edward Bennett Williams Law Library, and the School of Continuing Studies Downtown Campus Library.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy