Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Islamic Bioethics (IMSE Project)

The Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics (IMSE) Project is a collaborative effort of Georgetown Libraries to produce a comprehensive collection of resources pertaining to Islamic perspectives in the broad field of bioethics.

Bioethics Research Library Online Resources

Bioethics Research LibraryThe Bioethics Research Library (BRL)

You may be interested is studying Islamic Bioethics comparatively with other perpectives in bioethics or wish to follow the development of a topic or issue over time. We invited you to use the resources of the Bioethics Research Library to explore bioethics more broadly.

The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University began as a few shelves of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics’ scholars’ books. As the interdisciplinary field of bioethics grew, so did the library. It now includes:

  • More than 100,000 books, journals, audiovisuals, and archival materials on a wide range of topics.
  • Materials written in over 20 languages.
  • A diverse range of opinions expressed on bioethical issues from around the world.

Visiting the Library

The BRL is located in Healy Hall (Room 102) on Georgetown University's main campus. Researchers interested in using the resources of the library should contact us to schedule an appointment. If you are interested in only a few items, please let us know so that we may have them ready for you prior to your arrival. While the collection does not circulate to the general public, you may keep materials on personal hold for subsequent visits. Reference staff are available to assist you during your visit to the library.

Accessing the Collection Online

The library’s databases on bioethics literature, organizations, and syllabi are accessible via our web site and contain many links to full-text materials. Other sources of full-text documents on this site include the digital archives of the Presidential Bioethics Commissions, the Office for Human Research Protections, the National Information Resource on Ethics and Human Genetics as well as the Library's SCOPE NOTE Series.

Georgetown University and the Kennedy Institute of Ethics offer the first MOOC on Bioethics

 Introduction to Bioethics

About this course:

Should we clone humans? What should we think of the coming genetic revolution? How much control should we have over how and when we die? When does medical treatment turn into medical enhancement — and should we care? Is rationing health care good, bad, necessary — or all of the above?

This course will explore fundamental moral issues that arise in medicine, health, and biotechnology. Some are as old as life itself: the vulnerability of illness, the fact of death. Some are new, brought on by a dizzying pace of technology that can unsettle our core ideas about human nature and our place in the world. And nearly all intersect with issues of racial and gender equality, as well as policies affecting the world’s most vulnerable populations.

Designed to introduce students to the range of issues that define bioethics, together with core concepts and skills, this course should be of interest to undergraduates, health care professionals, policy makers, and anyone interested in philosophy or ethics.

Prerequisites?

 None. This is an introductory course. https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-to-bioethics


Enroll Now

 

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resources.

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resources.

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resources.

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resource

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resource

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resources.

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

The course addresses the day's most challenging topics in health care ethics in a setting that allows for sustained dialogue through lectures and small discussion groups with a distinguished faculty.

Drawing participants from around the globe, the course is truly intensive, with much of the intellectual exchange occurring over shared meals and in extra discussions organized around participants' special interests.

In addition to core lectures on central ethical topics such as beneficence, respect for autonomy, and virtues in the caretaking professions, participants have the opportunity to attend more informal, faculty-facilitated discussions on special topics such as religious ethics, patient vulnerability, and feminist bioethics.

While on the beautiful Georgetown campus, attendees have full access to the Bioethics Research Library, the world's largest collection of bioethics resource

- See more at: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/programs/ibc.cfm#sthash.rUtf7Uff.dpuf

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy