Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Arab & Middle Eastern Studies

E-books from The Office of the Historian at the U.S. Department of State: Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)

The Office of the Historian at the U.S. Department of State has released its Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series in an e-book format that is readable on popular electronic devices such as the Amazon Kindle and Apple iPad.

The collection includes number of titles related to US foreign relations in the Middle East:

 

 
Foreign Relations of the United States, 1958–1960, Lebanon and Jordan, Volume XI
E-book last updated: January 6, 2013.     
Foreign Relations of the United States, 1961–1963, Volume XVII, Near East, 1961–1962
E-book last updated: January 6, 2013.     

Finding E-Books in HoyaSearch

Georgetown University Libraries has many 1000's of books in e-format, and more are being added all the time. To find these:

-- search by KEYWORD or SUBJECT or TITLE or AUTHOR

You can also search the SUBJECT Electronic Books; however, due to the catalog system's limit of 10,000 items for one search, you will find only a small portion of the books we have in e-format this way.

Another way of finding e-books by names of collections (such as Credo Reference, EBSCOhost E-book Collection, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (EEBO) ... etc.) is to look at the E-Books libguide

 

N.B. since e-books from various providers function differently, you cannot always print, download, etc. from every e-book.  If you have questions about this, please contact Brenda E. Bickett (bickettb@georgetown.edu) or ask at the Reference Desk or the Circulation Desk; you can also click on the ASK US button on the library homepage for other ways to contact library staff who can assist you.

 

Hathi Trust

A vast collection of digitized books, mostly no longer in copyright, from the world's most prestigious research libraries. 

To login to Georgetown's instance of HathiTrust click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Georgetown University" as your partner institution and click "Continue". Once prompted, login in using your NetID and password. 

Additional E-Book Collections

Arabic E-books (available only to GU students, faculty & staff)

Al Manhal Database

Provides access to an extensive online Arabic collection of recently published books from the Arab world, in Arabic & English. This includes peer-reviewed and copyright protected publications on Business & Economics, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Language & Literature and Social Sciences.

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy