Guides: Spanish and Portuguese Studies: Film & Images

Image databases

Angelica: Art and Culture This link opens in a new window
More than 90,000 textual descriptions and 8,000 digital images of thousands of art slides in the collection of the department of Art, Music and Theater. Database will eventually include other humanities-based images found in the University community (e.g., archaeology slides in the Classics department collection). The database is for the exclusive educational use only of faculty and students at Georgetown University. A NetID is required for access. Materials, text and image are copyrighted.

Art Resource
Searchable archive of images from major museums; emphasis is on twentieth century fine art.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital library containing images of artworks, photographs, architecture, decorative arts, rare books, and items from popular culture. Images may be viewed live in ARTstor or offline in ARTstor's downloadable image viewer.
Bridgeman Images This link opens in a new window
This image archive provides over 100,000 images of fine and decorative art; scope is all periods, movements, styles, and themes in the history of art. Artworks from public and private collections are represented.

National Gallery of Art Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.

Film Studies Resources

Stream movies from these paid databases as well as some free websites below:

Kanopy Film & Media This link opens in a new window
Georgetown's subscription to Kanopy includes access to the Latin American Studies and Indigenous Studies collections. Films are streamed through a "Netflix-like" website and can be watched anywhere, anytime, in any setting.
Platino Educa This link opens in a new window
300+ full-length Spanish-language films, with English subtitles. Also includes interviews with cast and crew, and other supplemental resources.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of 1,000 documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, etc. This database includes over 100 documentaries relating to Latin America.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This database includes streaming documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos from the Films Media Group. There are Latin American Studies and a Latino Studies collections.

Cinépata
Free online source for mostly independent short feature films and documentaries, based in Santiago, Chile. Founded by writer/filmmaker Alberto Fuguet.

World History in Video This link opens in a new window
World history in video is an online collection of streaming video that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Documentaries about Latin America and the Caribbean are included in this database.

Open Video Project
Contains documentary, educational, ephemeral, historical and other types of video.
UbuWeb: Film & Video
Site for experimental and avant garde film and video

Use the Media Finder below to search for DVDs and CDs. You can also browse the DVDs on the second floor of the library, or use these online tools to browse: Browse by Genre and Browse by Language

Media Finder (library catalog)
Use the Media Finder to identify DVDs and CDs held at the library

Use these websites to find film studies resources:

Portal del Cine y el Audiovisual Latinoamericano y Caribeño
A wide variety of information about Latin American and Caribbean film, from legislation to festivals to the latest news. Created and maintained by the Agencia Española de Cooperación Internacional para el Desarrollo.
Cinegogía
Cinegogía is an open-access website devoted to the teaching and study of Latin American cinemas. This collaborative project is comprised of syllabi, film guides, course materials, a film database and links to other resources.
Research Guide: Latin American & Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet
This guide is maintained by Jesús Alonso-Regalado, Librarian for Latin American/Hispanic Studies at University at Albany Libraries.
Catálogo de cine español
Includes box office totals, directors, award winners, technical information, etc., as well as a listing of all the feature and short films produced in Spain.
Coordinadora Latinoamericana de Cine y Comunicación de los Pueblos Indígenas (CLACPI)
Indigenous film organization based in Santiago de Chile. Includes information about their annual film festival: Festival Internacional de Cine y Video de los Pueblos Indígenas

Search in these databases. You can find additional databases and journal titles on the Film and Media Studies Research Guide.

Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of communication and media.
To search only the Communication and Media Studies collection, go to the "Search Within" section and select "Communication and Media Studies" listed under "Social Sciences & Humanities."
Includes the full text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the areas of journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies/intercultural communication, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.

Finding Films in HoyaSearch

Follow these steps to find films owned by the Library.

Use Advanced Search in HoyaSearch.
Search GU Only.
Limit the Content Type to Video/Film.
Search for a particular film title, director, or subject.