"Founded in 1985, the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (AANP) is the national professional society representing naturopathic physicians who are licensed or eligible for licensing as primary care providers." Overview of naturopathic medicine, history, education/licensing, and a directory of practitioners.
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine at NIH provides this fact sheet to assist in decision-making about CAM. Included are frequently asked questions, issues, and additional resources.
The 2005 report from the National Academies of Science (NAS) Committee on the Use of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by the American Public on the integration of complementary and alternative therapies with conventional medicine in the U.S. healthcare industry.
The Alternative Medicine Foundation is a nonprofit organization founded in 1998 to provide responsible and reliable information about alternative medicine to the public and health professionals. HerbMed is an interactive, electronic herbal database, which provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
HANP is affiliated with the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians and is dedicated to excellence in homeopathic education, offering board certification in classical homeopathy to qualified naturopathic physicians. Their quarterly publication, Simillimum, presents case studies, materia medica, industry news and discussion of practical applications of homeopathic concepts.
The Linus Pauling Institute at Oregon State University is an NIH/NCCAM Center of Excellence for Research on Complementary and Alternative Medicine. Their mission is to determine the function and role of vitamins, minerals and medicinal plant chemicals in promoting health and preventing and treating conditions such as cancer, heart disease, and neuro generative diseases.
A product of the National Library of Medicine, the Health Topics section includes this page of links to full-text resources. Reference is made to additional MEDLINEplus pages on specific areas of CAM. There is also a Go Local page to find CAM resources in Maryland. A Spanish version of the page is available by clicking on Espanol in the top right corner.
Established through Congressional mandate, NCCAM was established and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health. It contains information about NCCAM, general health information, training, research, clinical trials, and news and events.
British site that performs searching on its own database and links to databases in areas of interest as well as professional bodies and other useful resources. Also provides book reviews, research methodology.
The RMHI is a private educational and research organization offering professional training in Chinese herbal sciences since 1987. The institute offers courses to professionals and the general public, publishes textbooks on Chinese herbology, provides healthcare to the public and conducts research projects. This site offers informative articles on Chinese herbology, clinical reports and healthcare politics, plus free access to the TCM HerbLibrary, a database of over 220 herbs of the Chinese material medica.