Skip to main content
Primary Sources at Lauinger Special Collections
Primary Sources: Foreign Relations of the United States
Foreign Relations of the United States records major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomatic activity. It contains declassified and unclassified documents from Presidential Libraries, State Department, Defense Department, National Security Council, CIA and others. This seriest tends to publish about 30-40 years after the events. The most current volume is for 1969-1976.
British Parliamentary Papers Online: Hansard 1803-2005
The Hansard Digitisation Project, led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords, provides electronic access to Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. Search by volume; Lords sittings; Commons sittings or Westminster Hall sittings. Included are Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports or Grand Committee reports, as well as lists of People, Constituencies, Offices, Acts, Bills and Divisions.
Cold War International History Project
The project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to disseminate new information and perspectives on Cold War history emerging from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist bloc.
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
Provides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries. Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile format or ASCII text.
Declassified Documents Reference System
Fully searchable general collection of declassified documents. Online images and text files of more than 75,000 declassified documents in many subject areas. Contains 38 searchable collections of declassified documents. From University of Texas.
Digital National Security Archive This resource may contain content still classified by the United States Government. Individuals holding security clearances use at their own risk.
A full-text database of 35 core collections of primary documents acquired by the George Washington University based National Security Archive
. The collection has been acquired through extensive use of FOIA. Each core collection is focused on one topic, e.g. Iran-Contra, Terrorism and U.S. Policy. Each topical collection includes diverse policy documents supplemented by contextual and reference material on chronology, glossary and bibliography.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941 - 1996
Includes full-text translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts as well as selected foreign news, periodical articles and government statements. Search by geographic region, article type or publication title. Browse "Events" to see chronological coverage of topics of interest. Coverage is continued by the World News Connection
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Electronic Index
Index to FBIS reports from 1941 to 1996. Lauinger's Government Documents department has the full text on microfiche of items listed in this database from 1941 through the mid-1990s. Full text is also available for 1974 to 1996 from FBIS Reports Online
. For 1994 to the present, see the World News Connection
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Part of Archives Unbound
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Selected volumes of FRUS (1861-1958/1960) have been digitized by the University of Wisconsin.
National Security Archive
Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. GWU
Parallel History Project
Collection of declassified and previously inaccessible documents, frequently translated, mostly relating to NATO, The Warsaw Pact, and the Cold War.
Wilson Center Digital Archive
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.