Skip to main content
These are the best databases to search for articles in medieval studies.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarship drawn from Medieval and Renaissance books, dissertations, and journal materials (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies). Covers the years 400 to 1700. Indexes publications from the mid-1800's to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes articles published in journals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400 to 1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Searchable index of feminist-oriented literary scholarship on the medieval period (450-1500 CE) in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
L'Année philologique on the Internet is the digital version of L'Année philologique, a database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, in collaboration with the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and the American Philological Association (APA). Contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world in the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaelogy, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Coverage begins in 200 B.C. and ends roughly in 800 A.D. A list of journal title abbreviations used by the editors is available on the publisher's website
You might also find these databases useful, depending on your topic.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
BHA is a bilingual, international bibliographic database on the history of post-classical Western art, architecture, and decorative arts. It covers art history from late antiquity to the present. The database provides citations to material published between 1975 and 2007.
International Bibliography of Art
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years.
The primary index to the literature of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts for books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. For book reviews prior to 1985, use the print version.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
Cumulates four databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975- ), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (2002- ), Science Citation Index Expanded (1970- ) and Social Sciences Citation Index (1970- ). In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
If you are just beginning your research, start with a book. Books provide overviews of topics.
Check for books on your topic in GEORGE, the library's catalog. Search by keyword, author, title, or subject heading. To find a book by topic, search by Library of Congress Subject Headings, keywords, or try looking up a title you know and click on 'Find Similar Items' to search by the subject headings listed in the book's catalog record.
Over 100 million records for books and other materials in over 60,000 libraries. Items found in WorldCat may be requested through InterLibrary & Consortium Loan services.