Skip to main content
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Major comprehensive encyclopedia covering biology, ecology, environmental and health sciences, and biochemistry. The online version is updated regularly with new or revised articles. Also in print in SCIENCE Reference QH 302.4 .E54.
Encyclopedia of Earth
The Encyclopedia is a collection of articles that cover all aspects of the earth's environment, with particular emphasis on the interaction between society and the natural spheres of the Earth. Authors are scholars, professionals, educators, and experts in their fields. There are thorough editorial reviews of articles and strict guidelines about topics included.
Encyclopedia of Ecology
Covers the core knowledge of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. Over 500 concise, stand-alone articles serve as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
More than 400 articles, from the perspectives of the physical, chemical, biological, and geological disciplines, cover the physical processes that drive the oceans. The many different methods used to study the oceans are included, from ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing.
Provides definitions, discussions of policy issues, biography, and many other topics of interest for environmental studies. Entries are signed and include bibliographies.
Dictionary of Ecology
Contains over 6,250 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography.
Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
Definitions of terms from all aspects, social and scientific, of environmental science and conservation.
Print Encyclopedia and Dictionaries and Handbooks
Specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries provide succinct, time-saving information about particular authors, movements, schools of thought, and historical, religious, or economic issues surrounding your topic.