Skip to main content
Foreign and International
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
Comparative Constitutions Project
The project is to investigate the sources and consequences of constitutional choices. Towards this end, the investigators are collecting data on the formal characteristics of written constitutions, both current and historical, for most independent states since 1789.
Listing of (and links to) constitutions, charters, amendments, and related documents for 211 governmental entities worldwide. In alphabetical order by country name.
REQUIRES FREE REGISTRATION. Fulltext European Union / European Community legislation, case law, and preparatory documents. Includes treaties between EU member states, international agreements, secondary legislation, and supplementary legislation, decisions of Community law courts and opinions of the Court of Justice of the EC and opinions of the Advocates-General, and parliamentary questions.
A comprehensive resource maintained by Northwestern University Library. It provides links to the official government web sites, down to department or ministry level.
Globalex is a tool for researching foreign and international law. Guides include topics in human trafficking, terrorism, and the UN. Country guides preview over 100 countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe; and they include information on procedure, case law, constitution, courts of last resort, etc.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
This collection includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. Access is available for the 19th century (1801-1900) collection.
International Criminal Court (ICC)
The International Criminal Court (ICC), governed by the Rome Statute, is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community.
JuriGlobe contains general information relating to the different legal systems in the world
The Military Committee -- NATO
The Military Committee (MC) is the senior military authority in NATO and the oldest permanent body in NATO after the North Atlantic Council, both having been formed months after the Alliance came into being. Includes access to large depository e-library.
PARLINE was developed by the InterParliamentary Union. It draws information about national legislatures around the world from official parliamentary sources, and it also includes selected results of recent elections.
Political Resources on the Net
Provides listings of political web sites sorted by country, with links to political parties, organizations, and governments.
This annual publication of the Central Intelligence Agency provides profiles of countries throughout the world. Each country profile begins with a brief historical background and includes information about geography, population, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. -- CIA.
World leaders -- CIA
CIA listing of global world leaders.