From the early years of the city when residents owned horses, cows, pigs, goats, geese, and chickens to more recent times, the author, Hayden M. Wetzel, traces the development of animal control in DC. Appendices provide statistics, legislation, and court decisions.
An Awesome Place to Start
H-DC, the Washington History Network, has created an excellent portal for anyone interested in researching the history of DC. It includes reviews of books on DC history; links to DC special collections, museums, and archives; links to digital collections; bibliographies; and more.
DC Public Library's Special Collections house a comprehensive collection of material on Washington, D.C., from the late 18th century to the present, including the reference library, the photograph collections and the D.C. community archives, some collections are digitized in Dig DC. Read more about their collections and services in the Washington Post (Jan. 12, 2014).
The Historical Society of Washington, DC, publishes Washington History and hosts programs and exhibits. The Kiplinger Research Library collects a wide range of materials documenting all aspects of Washington, DC, history.
Capitalizing on Washington, DC’s diverse communities and its role as the nation’s capital, the Washingtoniana Collection of the GW Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) documents the city’s political, economic, social, and cultural history. This history of the District of Columbia covers the beginning plans for a federal city (1791) to the present day work to achieve DC Statehood.
Full-text of 24 titles published in Washington, DC. Dates covered range from 1690 to 1998. Click on the "Places of Publication" tab to view and search them. Cross-searchable with African American Newspapers.