Skip to main content
Baltimore '68: Riots and Rebirth
An online resource from the University of Baltimore about the history and impact of the 1968 riots in Baltimore City.
Baltimore News American Photograph Collection
These photographs represent the everyday coverage of the civil rights movement from the perspective of a broad-circulation daily newspaper. This includes images of riots, demonstrations, politicians, and local events that have become part of the struggle for civil rights in Maryland, as well as southern states like Alabama and Mississippi.
Civil Rights Digital Library
An extensive collection of digitized resources about the Civil Rights Movement across the United States. Includes an interactive map, keyword search, and browsable index of people, places, and topics related to Civil Rights in America.
Civil Rights Resource Guide
A list of online resources pertaining to the Civil Rights Movement across America, compiled by the Library of Congress. Includes links to online exhibits, guides, bibliographies, and digitized resources.
Documents Related to Brown v. Board of Education
An extensive resource from the National Archives about the Brown v. Board of Education Decision. Provides access to digitized documents from the case, including the judgment and dissenting opinions.
Part of the American Experience series developed by PBS, this site provides extensive information about the civil rights activists who rode interstate buses from May until November 1961 in order to challenge segregation in America. Includes full episode and biographies of individuals involved.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
Online access to publications from the USCCR from the University of Maryland Thurgood Marshall Law Library. Searchable by date, subject, and geographic region.
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
Created by PBS, this website offers information about the end of institutionalized slavery in America and the development of the Jim Crow laws. Includes interactive timelines and maps, as well as tools and activities for teachers.