Skip to main content
Important Government Resources
Anti-Slavery Society (London)
Works to oppose "slavery and the buying and selling of people as objects; trafficking of women and the predicament of migrant workers who are trapped into servitude; debt bondage .....; forced labour; forced prostitution; abusive forms of child labour; and early or forced marriage..." Reports on trafficking of children in West Africa. Their 1998 Antislavery Award went to Prof. Cheikh Saad Bouh Kamara from Mauritania. Publishes a quarterly, Anti-Slavery Reporter.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
Country of Origin Research
Extensive research collected by the Canadian government on human rights abuses in many countries. The Responses to Information Requests (RIRs) database is a compilation of responses to requests for information submitted to the Research Directorate in the course of the refugee protection determination process.
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
European Country of Origin Information Network
This site compiles and provides access to recent country information specifically geared to asylum claims. Select a country and browse the documents or add additional search terms to narrow your results.
FDsys is a project of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) to provide digital access to government information. The collection includes the Budget of the U.S. Government; the Compilation of Presidential Documents; Congressional bills, calendars, committee prints, documents, hearings, and reports; the Congressional Record; Economic Indicators; the Federal Register; the List of CFR Sections Affected; and Public and Private Laws. Coverage begins in 1993.
Forced Migration Online
Forced Migration Online is a comprehensive resource coordinated by the Refugee Studies Centre at the University of Oxford with the help of international advisors. The group includes under the term of "forced migration" displacement due to war, development, and disaster. Documentation can be accessed using the button menu for regional resources, thematic resources, and working papers. FMO is building a digital library using the specialized collections of institutional partnerships and provides fu
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights.
Human Rights Web Archive
The Human Rights Web Archive is an initiative by Columbia University Libraries and Information Services (CUL) and its Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research (CHRDR), with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to select, preserve, and provide access to freely available internet resources, specifically addressing at-risk websites in the area of human rights.
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Finally available on the web! Refworld is vast collection of country information, reports, policy documents, national legislation, maps, position papers, case law, and much more. The simplest method to access information is to use the country name and then use "filter" to refine the results.
Search.USA.gov is the U.S. government’s official search engine. It is a comprehensive, searchable index of about 50 million pages from federal, state, local, territorial, and tribal websites.