Guides: STRT 2265: Business Government Relations: US Federal

Congressional Hearings and Bill Tracking

Govtrack.us This link opens in a new window
Govtrack is an open-source project that tracks legislation, using Web 2.0 technology to deliver RSS feeds and email updates on pending activity. Look up members of Congress, search and browse bills and resolutions, find congressional voting records, or follow postings on the Govtrack blog.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional is the primary source for electronic government documents such as hearings, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, the Congressional Record, federal regulations, and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Many documents are in full text and cover the years 1789 to the present; others are citations that are available in full text in print or microform in the library.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
formerly Thomas.gov
This resource from the Library of Congress allows users to search for: Bills, Resolutions; Activity in Congress; Congressional Record; Schedules, Calendars; Committee Information; Presidential Nominations; and Treaties, some beginning with the 93rd Congress (1973) - present. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.
Coverage dates for legislative information in Congress.gov are available here.

USA Spending
USA Spending records all types of financial assistance awards made by Federal agencies to all types of recipients during the indicated quarter.
Each transaction record identifies, by the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) program code number and name, the type and amount of financial assistance, the type and location of the recipient and the geographic place of performance.
Assistance Listings (formerly Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA))
Descriptions of all federal programs available to state and local governments of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) This link opens in a new window
An annual codification of the regulations of the Federal government. It is completely revised each year to reflect regulations currently in effect. New regulations first appear in the daily Federal Register and then are codified in the CFR. An electronic version is available on GPO Access (1996-) and HeinOnline (1938-).
Federal Register This link opens in a new window
Published daily by the Federal government containing new and proposed regulations (rules) of the executive agencies, e.g. IRS, EPA, FDA and etc. The President's proclamations and executive orders may also be found here. All final rules will later be published by subject (titles 1-50) in the Code of Federal Regulations. Published electronically by GPO Access (1996-) and HeinOnline (1936-).
Federal Register: What It Is and How to Use It This link opens in a new window
An introduction to the development of the regulatory process, the organization of the Federal Register, and the relationship between it and the Code of Federal Regulations and Public Laws. Search tools are also discussed.

Regulations.gov
This is an online source for U.S. government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies. It is committed to improving citizens' access to and participation in the federal regulatory process. You can: Search for a regulation such as a proposed rule, final rule or Federal Register (FR) notice; Submit a comment on a regulation or on another comment; Submit an application, petition or adjudication document; and Quickly access regulations that are popular, newly posted or closing soon.

Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year. About the Budget of the United States Government
Congressional Budget Office
CBO assists the House and Senate Budget Committees, and the Congress more generally, by preparing reports and analyses. In accordance with the CBO's mandate to provide objective and impartial analysis, CBO's reports contain no policy recommendations.
Federal, State & Local Governments
Fiscal operations of federal, state, and local governments.

Government Accountability Office (GAO)
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
Politico (2007-present)
Politico is an American political journalism organization that distributes its content via television, the Internet, newspaper, and radio. Its coverage of Washington, D.C., includes the U.S. Congress, lobbying, media and the Presidency.
Roll Call
Roll Call reports news of legislative and political maneuverings on Capitol Hill, as well as political coverage of congressional elections across the country. In addition to breaking news, the paper features Washington, D.C., analysts such as Morton M. Kondracke, Stuart Rothenberg and Norman Ornstein. RollCall.com, the online version of the newspaper, features breaking news stories and daily e-mail alerts.
The Hill
The Hill reports and analyzes the actions of Congress, and how they are influenced by constituents, congressional leaders, the administration, lobbyists and the news media.