Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

E-Books: Using E-Books

EBSCOHost E-Books

EBSCOhost logo

EBSCOhost E-Books

 

Loan Period 1 week
Simultaneous users? Varies by title
Can be downloaded?

Yes -- to Mac, Windows, and ADE-supported devices

Download file format

Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) PDF

Additional requirements
  • EBSCOhost personal account (for download)
  • Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher (for download)
How can I get help?

 
To download most EBSCO E-Books: (also see EBSCO's help pages)

  1. Sign in (or create) your My EBSCOhost account (separate from your GU Library account).
  2. Install and activate Adobe Digital Editions.
  3. Click the Download this eBook (Offline) link for the e-book you would like to download.
  4. Click the Checkout & Download button. A file for Adobe Digital Editions will download, and the e-book will be added to the Checkouts area of your EBSCO folder.
  5. From within Adobe Digital Editions, open the downloaded file.

NOTE: A few EBSCO e-books are DRM-free and can be downloaded without signing into My EBSCOhost or using ADE. However, the vast majority of GU-owned titles will require the above steps.

After you check-out and download your E-Book:

Acta Sanctorum

Chadwyck-Healey logoActa Sanctorum
Electronic transcript of a collection of Latin documents examining the lives of the saints, organized by each saint's feast day. Includes prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, indices, and references to Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL).

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    1. To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P; Mac: ⌘  + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF" or "Save as PDF" option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    2. To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘  + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘  + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

Al Manhal

Al Manhal Database logoAl Manhal Database
Provides access to an extensive online Arabic collection of recently published books from the Arab world, in Arabic & English. This includes peer-reviewed and copyright protected publications on Business & Economics, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Language & Literature and Social Sciences.

 

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

Varies by Title
[if all copies are limited, a pop-up window will ask if you would like to be notified when the materials are available]

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML Text and PDF (unprotected/some ebooks contain PDF download limits)
Additional Requirements
  • None
How do I get help?

 

To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), look for the Download PDF link on the left under the cover image. Many documents within this database are available for unlimited downloaded; however, some materials only allow a percentage of the entire text to be downloaded into PDF format. A download screen will provide details on the download availability of specific texts.
  2. Download the desired file to your computer or device. 

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Usage restrictions (if any) for each E-book can be found below the In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book) in the Content Availability section.

Business Expert Press Ebooks

ebrary logoBusiness Expert Press (BEP) Ebooks
This growing collection contains titles focusing on international business, mergers, finance, accounting, social networking, and many more interests. Titles are hosted on 2 platforms: Ebrary (older titles) and IGPublish (newer titles).

The instructions below refer to the Ebrary portion of BEP Ebooks: 

Loan Period 14 days
Simultaneous User Limit   

Varies by Title
[if all copies are limited, a pop-up window will ask if you would like to be notified when the materials are available]

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes, with specific devices

File Format(s) Used PDF (Adobe Digital Editions)
Additional Requirements
  • Free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher to download book for offline use
How do I get help?

 

To download an E-Book:

  1. Install and activate Adobe Digital Editions:
    1. Download Adobe Digital Editions.
    2. Follow the instructions for installation on your computer.
    3. Activate Adobe Digital Editions.
  2. Click the Download button in the search results or QuickView. You may be prompted to sign in.
  3. Select the option to Download the entire document.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Choose whether to Open with Adobe Digital Editions or Save file to open later.
  6. Click OK.

After you download your E-Book:

Digitalia

Digitalia logoDigitalia
Provides full-text access to thousands of books and periodicals from academic and high-quality Iberian and Latin American publishers. Many titles appear in GEORGE as well. Coverage includes essentially all topics, but focuses particularly on Iberian and Latin American history, culture, and literature. Most titles are in Spanish but there is a growing number of Portuguese, Catalan, and Galician titles. 

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

No

File Format(s) Used Flash / HTML5 / single-page PDF (unsecured)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • E-Books can only be downloaded in PDF format in 1 page increments.
  • Printing is limited to individual pages.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation

Alexander Street Press logoDigital Library of the Catholic Reformation
Full-text collection of 16th- and 17th-century Catholic papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives and devotional works.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    1. To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P; Mac: ⌘  + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF" or "Save as PDF" option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    2. To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘  + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘  + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts

Alexander Street Press logoDigital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Full-text collection of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    1. To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P; Mac: ⌘  + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF" or "Save as PDF" option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    2. To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘  + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘  + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

Directory of Open Access Books logoDirectory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Full-text materials made available through a partnership between Digital Georgetown and the Georgetown University Press. Includes books about Georgetown and books about the history of Catholic and Jesuit higher education.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. From the search results list, click the Free access link. The PDF will download to your computer.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Early English Books Online logoEarly English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. From the search results list or Document Images screen in the desired record, click the Add this record to your Marked List check box.
  2. Click the Marked List link on the banner at the top of the page.
  3. For each set of materials you wish to download, click the Download document image sets in PDF format link.
  4. Select the desired document images to include in the PDF or use all images from the document by selecting the appropriate option under the Reel position heading.
  5. Click the blue Download button.
  6. You will be taken to a page that shows the progress in creating the PDF. When the progress bar has finished, use the confirm link below to download the PDF.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions: Installing and Using

Get Adobe Digital Editions

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Many of our e-book packages require Adobe Digital Editions (ADE), a free extension to Adobe Acrobat Reader. To install and use ADE, follow these steps:

  1. Download Acrobat Reader, if not already installed.
  2. Download Adobe Digital Editions from Adobe's website.
  3. Create an Adobe ID and authorize your copy of ADE (optional)

ADE is pre-installed on Library computers.

An Adobe ID is not necessary to read e-books, but if you are using ADE on your personal computer (not a Library or public computer), Adobe recommends authorizing ADE with an Adobe ID. Your Adobe ID is free and completely separate from your NetID or other GU accounts.

Help with Adobe Digital Editions

ProQuest Ebook Central

Ebook Central logo

A valid Georgetown NetID is required to use EBook Central, even if you are simply reading online (not downloading) on campus.

Loan Period Varies, usually 21 days
Simultaneous users? Varies by title, usually unlimited
Can be downloaded?

Yes -- to Mac, Windows, and some Android devices. List of supported devices.

Download file format

EPUB or PDF (software needed for latter)

Additional requirements
How can I get help?

To download an entire E-Book: (also see ProQuest LibGuide)

  1. Install and activate Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader (depending on your device).
  2. Click the Full Download button.
    1. Don't want to download the entire book? Use the Chapter Download link. Usually a small chunk of pages can be printed or downloaded as a PDF (no ADE or Bluefire necessary).
  3. Choose your device (usually Ebook Central will successfully guess) and computer location.
  4. Install appropriate reader sofware (ADE or Bluefire). If you did this already, click Done with this step to continue.
  5. Choose your download period (we recommend the max available) and format, if a choice is available.
  6. Click Download Your Book.
  7. (if necessary) From within Adobe Digital Editions, open the downloaded file.

After you check-out and download your E-Book:

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

OECD iLibrary logoGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), click on the PDF link at the upper right-hand corner of the page.
  2. Look for the "Article Tools" drop-down menu above the page image. Select the Download link.
  3. Download the desired file to your computer or device.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Georgetown University Press

Georgetown University Press logoGeorgetown University Press E-Books
 Full-text materials made available through a partnership between Digital Georgetown and the Georgetown University Press. Includes books about Georgetown and books about the history of Catholic and Jesuit higher education.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?
  • Check the e-book platform's help documentation.
  • Ask for help.


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), look for the Files in this item table.
  2. Under the Files column, click on the link that ends in .pdf.
  3. The PDF file will open in your browser window or you will be prompted to save the file. 
    1. If the file opens in your browser: Save the PDF file to a known location on your computer, such as your desktop.
    2. If you are prompted to save the file: If possible, save the file to a known location on your computer, such as your Desktop.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Humanities E-Book

Humanities E-Book Project logoHumanities E-Book Project 
An electronic collection of over 15,000 computer-related technical books. Topics range from desktop application software to network engineering, and from application to theory. Publishers included are Reilly, Sams, Peachpit Press, New Riders, Microsoft Press, Cisco Press, Adobe Press, Addison-Wesley and others. 

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

No

File Format(s) Used GIF / Text / single-page PDF (unsecured)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • E-Books can only be downloaded in PDF format in 1 page increments.
  • Printing is limited to individual pages.

IMF eLibrary

IMF eLibrary logoIMF eLibrary
eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected) / ePUB / MOBI
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), look for the PDFePUB, and MOBI links on the left under the cover image.
  2. Download the desired file to your computer or device.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Literature Online

Chadwyck-Healey logoLiterature Online
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 full-text works of English and American poetry, drama, and fiction with complementary criticism, reference resources, and websites. Includes over 800 clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    1. To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P; Mac: ⌘  + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF" or "Save as PDF" option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    2. To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘  + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘  + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

National Academies Press Free E-Books

National Academies Press logoNational Academies Press Free E-Books
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academy of SciencesNational Academy of EngineeringInstitute of Medicine, and National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. 

Loan Period unlimited (open access)
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited (open access)

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes.

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements
  • Free NAP account or submission of email address to download book for offline use
How do I get help?

 

To download an E-Book:

  1. From either the purchase book or read online pages, click the Download link. This will lead to a MyNAP login page.
  2. PDFs can be downloaded for offline reading in one of two ways:
    1. By creating a free, personal account on the National Academies Press site. Click the I don't have an account link in the lower right of the login box. The login box will change to an account creation box. Click the Create My Account button, then download the book in the desired format on the resulting page. Or,
    2. By downloading the book as a guest. Click the I don't have an account link in the lower right of the login box. The login box will change to an account creation box. Again in the lower right of this box, click the Download as guest link. Enter your email address in the Email Address box and read the Terms of Use. If you agree with the terms of use, check the acceptance box, then click the Continue button. Download the book in the desired format on the resulting page.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary logoOECD iLibrary
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected)
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book (the page specific to the book), look for the PDF links in the center to the right of the cover image.
  2. Download the desired file to your computer or device.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

Patrologia Latina

Chadwyck-Healey logoPatrologia Latina
A full-text electronic version of the Latin portion of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, published by 19-century ecclesiastical publisher Jacques-Paul Migne. Its 221 volumes cover the works of the Latin Fathers, from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent III in 1216.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    1. To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P; Mac: ⌘  + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF" or "Save as PDF" option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    2. To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘  + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘  + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

Safari Books Online

Safari Tech Books Online logoSafari Books Online
An electronic collection of over 15,000 computer-related technical books. Topics range from desktop application software to network engineering, and from application to theory. Publishers included are Reilly, Sams, Peachpit Press, New Riders, Microsoft Press, Cisco Press, Adobe Press, Addison-Wesley and others. 

Loan Period 14 days
Simultaneous User Limit   

10 users

E-Book Reader Compatable?  

No

File Format(s) Used Adobe Flash
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • E-Books cannot be downloaded to your computer or another device. They must be read on the Safari Tech Books website.
  • Printing is limited to individual pages.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy