Skip to Main Content

ASST4089-01: U.S.-Southeast Asian Relations in the Post-9/11 World

AFTA and the world

ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations)Under AFTA, six members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) cut tariffs on nearly 8,000 items. The six countries include Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, the Philippines, Brunei and Thailand. Four of the less developed ASEAN nations including Cambodia, Laos, Burma and Vietnam will have a further period to phase in the tariff cuts. To get more information, go to

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy