Guides: ENST 1010 : Home

Ryan Johnson

Email Me

Citation Tools

Purdue OWL
Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) provides guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as advice on research, writing and citation.
How To Cite Data (MSU Library)
A concise page with helpful tips on citing your data and examples from three official style guides (APA, MLA, and Chicago). Includes information about how to cite tables, datasets, and citing within text. From Michigan State University Libraries.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies. Note: Legacy RefWorks will be retired on June 30, 2022. We strongly advise Legacy RefWorks users to upgrade their accounts to new RefWorks. If you would like to use the legacy edition of RefWorks, please click here.

Zotero
Zotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).

HoyaSearch

Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch!

Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Provides access to journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly LexisNexis Environmental and ProQuest Environment Abstracts.
Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. This mixed media collection spans over 173 hours of video and 132,000 pages of digital material.
The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Sustainability brings together 150 journals and 5,000 research reports on the environment, energy, ecology, urban planning, infrastructure, land management, and more. The collection can be searched on its own or through the JSTOR general portal.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Cumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
Data Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of US and international statistics in Data Planet Statistical Datasets. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.

Reference Books

Environmental encyclopedia by Bortman, Marci
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
Publication Date: 2014

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

ENST 1010

Ryan Johnson

Citation Tools

HoyaSearch

Databases

Reference Books

Tutorials