Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Temporary Access to Electronic Resources During Instructional Continuity

A guide to temporary access provided by Georgetown University Library and select publishers during the COVID-19 epidemic and instructional continuity.

Introduction

During the current period of instructional continuity during the global COVID-19 epidemic, many publishers and providers are offering temporary or enhanced access to online resources.

Due to the fluidity of the current information environment and the different ways in which providers are offering enhanced access, please note that many of the resources below will not appear in HoyaSearch, A-Z Databases list, or Research & Course Guides. Please consult these sources for access to our regular, extensive collection of remotely accessible online resources.

This page is being continuously updated. To submit additional offers for review, please email eresources@georgetown.edu.

Access Notes:

  • While these resources have been reviewed by the Georgetown University Library, access is subject to the policies and expiration dates set by individual providers.
  • Access to some resources may require specific links or the creation of individual user accounts. Please refer to the publishers' announcements, the descriptions, and the links posted below for more information.
  • Visit the Library's Off-Campus Access page for detailed information about how to access library electronic resources remotely.
  • Visit the Library's COVID-19 FAQs for more details about using Library services during the epidemic.

Library Resources

Annual Reviews (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Annual Reviews has opened all of their content to all users through June 30, 2020 with a possible extension at that time.

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the Annual Reviews website
  • What's Accessible?: All Annual Reviews journal content, regardless of title and year.
  • How Long?: free access lasts through June 30, 2020, subject to additional extension
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

A&AePortal (Art and Architecture ePortal) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

A&AePortal has opened all of their content (ebooks, image search, and coursepacks) to all Georgetown users through June 16, 2020.

  • Publisher Announcement: no publisher announcement available
  • What's Accessible?: All A&Aeportal content 
  • How Long?: trial runs through June 16, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: Yes
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

BCC Market Research Library​ (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

BCC Research provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Reports span multiple disciplines including Life Sciences, Materials, Commerce, Sensors, Environment and Sustainability, and more. 

To access content, users must visit (using the link above), and in the top right corner select “member login.” A window will pop up, where you will select “IP Authenticate.”  

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a; offer received direct from publisher 
  • What's Accessible?: all reports in Market Research Library. Access is limited to read only (no downloads) for the duration of this trial. 
  • How Long?:  trial expires on May 31, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Berliner Philharmoniker

The Berliner Philharmoniker has opened up free access to their Digital Concert Hall, a platform for historic concerts. Users must register for a free account using the coupon code BERLINPHIL. Access lasts for 30 days after registration and does not require cancellation.

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the Berliner Philharmoniker website
  • What's Accessible?: all Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall content
  • How Long?: free access lasts for 30 days, account originally needed to be created by March 30, 2020, but this appears to have been extended.
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: register for a Digital Concert Hall account with the coupon code BERLINPHIL

 

Bloomberg.com 

Bloomberg Media, a major provider of business news intelligence, has generously made available worldwide access to Bloomberg.com. Users must register an account using their university email address for verification. If a user is already registered with Bloomberg.com using their university email, no more additional steps are needed to gain access. Access will be available through July 31, 2020. 

  • Publisher Announcement: available on Bloomberg.com
  • What's Accessible?: Bloomberg.com content except "Subscriber Only Newsletters" and "Bloomberg New Mobile App." Does not include access to Bloomberg Anywhere. 
  • How Long?: July 31, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link 

 

Bloomsbury Collections (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Bloomsbury has opened their "Bloomsbury Collections" ebook content. Composed of over 10,000 ebooks, the Collections cover a wide-variety of disciplines and time periods. Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences.  

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a; offer received via listserv
  • What's Accessible?: For full list of collections see the Bloomsbury Collections page.
  • How Long?: June 30, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link 

 

Brepols Online (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Brepols has made available (1) journal backfiles of 45 online journals in medieval studies, theology, and other humanities fields (coverage is inception - 2011), (2) over 1,600 monographs in medieval studies and other humanities fields published in 2017 or earlier. Books and journals can be browsed or keyword searched.

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a; offer received via listserv
  • What's Accessible?: (1) Journals (up to 2011); (2) books (up to 2017 publication year)
  • How Long?: May 30, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link 

 

Cambridge University Press Reference Materials (Companions, Histories, Elements) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Cambridge University Press has offered extended access to reference materials (Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories, and Cambridge Elements) through June 29, 2020.

 

China Ebook Hub (中国电子书库 - 中国学术电子书库) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

China Ebook Hub (offered by China National Publications Import and Export Corporation [CNPIEC]) contains over 4,000 recently published scholarly ebook titles spread across a variety of academic disciplines. 

Access for this trial is limited to ebook content (PDF and Epubs) and is free to read online, while complete, full-text of downloads of content may be limited. Documentation regarding accessing content can be found here

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a 
  • What's Accessible?: all ebook content is free to read online during the trial, but full text downloads of entire books not allowed. 
  • How Long?: June 30, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link 

 

CNKI Content (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

CNKI (Chinese National Knowledge Infrastructure) has made available additional content: (1) Research Papers on Covid-19 (English Abstracts, Chinese full text), (2) Ebooks related to COVID-19 (Chinese), (3) English-language Chinese news sources: People's Daily, China Daily, and the National Health Commission of the PRC. Note this content is in addition to the Library's existing CNKI subscription.

 

DeGruyter eBooks (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

DeGruyter and their publishing partners (including university presses from Princeton, Harvard, Cornell, Rutgers, the University of Chicago, Yale, the University of California, and others) have generously provided access to over 75,000 DRM-free ebook titles. The ebooks span a variety of academic disciplines and cover a wide range of time periods, from the 1650s up to 2016. 

Please note that content will continue being added over the upcoming weeks until all 75,000 titles are available. 

  • Publisher Announcement: available from DeGruyter Newsletter (PDF)
  • What's Accessible?: 75,000 ebooks 
  • How Long?: free access lasts through June 30, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Drama Online (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

A rich collection of scripts, video/audio performances, articles on theater craft and background material on over 2,000 plays, ranging from Greek tragedy to the present day. From Bloomsbury.

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a; offer received via listserv
  • What's Accessible?: scripts, video/audio performances, articles and more for over 2,000 plays  
  • How Long?: free access lasts through June 5
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Duke University Press Entire Platform (Books and Journals) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Duke University Press has generously unlocked large portions of their electronic platform. Collections opened include: e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection (2700+ ebooks), e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection (over 30+ prominent social sciences and humanities journals), and more. 

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the DUP website
  • What's Accessible?: 2,700+ ebooks and 30+ academic journals
  • How Long?: free access lasts through June 25, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Duke University Press Project Euclid and Mathematics Content  (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

In addition to opening their main platform, Duke University Press has also opened their content hosted by Project Euclid. Mainly focusing on mathematics, these resources include: the Euclid Prime Collection, MSP on Euclid, and the Duke Mathematical Journal and DMJ 100. 

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the DUP website
  • What's Accessible?: Several collections of Duke University Press Journals 
  • How Long?: free access lasts through June 25, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

East View Information Services Resources 

East View Information Services, an industry leader in providing English and foreign language information products and services, has generously made available many of their Russian language ebooks, journals, and newspapers. Though we already subscribe to many East View collections, the temporarily opened collections include: Pravda, Rossiikaia gazeta, Novaia gazeta, the Current Digest of the Russian Press, and the Essential Russian Classics ebook collection. Additionally, East View has opened the publication: The Current Digest of the Chinese Press. 

 

Harvard Business Publishing Collection (ebooks) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

The Harvard Business Publishing Collection includes Harvard Business Review’s complete catalog of e-books. The collection consists of over 600 electronic works--that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR. Subjects covered include Business Communication, Career Development, Finance, Strategic Planning, Skill Development, and more.

  • Publisher Announcement: available from Ebsco 
  • What's Accessible?: All of the Harvard Business Publishing Collection ebooks and related materials
  • How Long?: free access lasts through May 31, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

JoVe Science Education (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

JoVE (the Journal of Visualized Experiments) has opened their Science Education modules through June 15, 2020. Aside from modules previously subscribed, Georgetown University Library has registered for this access.

  • Publisher Announcement: no publisher announcement available
  • What's Accessible: All JoVE Science Education modules (including Lab Manual, Basic Biology, Chemistry)
  • How Long?: through June 15, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: Yes
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

JSTOR Extended Access (Journals and Primary Sources)

JSTOR has generously opened up many of their Journals and Primary Source collections. While much of the open content overlaps with our licensed entitlements, there is still a large amount of newly available material available to our users. 

In particular, access to many of the primary source collections (World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants) are now available. 

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the JSTOR website
  • What's Accessible: Archive Journal Collections, Thematic Collections, and Primary Source Collections 
  • How Long?: through December 31, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Kanopy (including The Teaching Company's Great Courses Series) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Kanopy is opening streaming video access from some content partners (First Run Features, Samuel Goldwyn, Collective Eye Films, FilmRise and more) through May 2020. More content partner partners are expected to be added over the coming days. Additionally, the entirety of The Great Courses series from The Teaching Company are available. 

 

Maruzen eBook Library  (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Maruzen International, a Japanese e-book pubilsher for academic institutions, has opened their entire platform of academic materials. The collection consists of over 50,000 (mostly Japanese language) titles spread across a variety of material types and subjects. The collection includes reference works, study-aids, textbooks, magazines, generalized subject inductions, and more. 

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a direct from publisher
  • What's Accessible: Over 50,000 Japanese-language ebooks across a variety of disciplines
  • How Long?: through May 30, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

MIT Press Direct eBooks (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

MIT Press Direct is the best way for libraries to offer MIT Press eBooks to their patrons. Libraries can access the complete collection, with more than 2,500 eBooks and approximately 175 added each year, or subject-specific collections. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a direct from publisher
  • What's Accessible: Over 2,500 ebooks across a variety of disciplines
  • How Long?: through June 30, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Moazine, Korean Magazine Database 

As the largest provider of electronic magazine titles based in Korea, Moazine provides access to over 200 individual magazines covering over 20,000 issues (recent and archived) and over 668,000 articles. Magazines in the collection cut across a wide variety of academic disciplines and include Korean-language analogs of many popular U.S. titles, such as: Fortune (Korea), Vogue, Popular Science, and more.

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a direct from publisher
  • What's Accessible: 200+ individual magazines comprising over 20,000 issues
  • How Long?: through August 31, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

National Emergency Library (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Curated by the Internet Archive, the National Emergency Library is a collection of over a million ebooks that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. While all titles are freely available to read, some may require an Internet Archive account to access. Please see the National Emergency Library FAQ if you have questions.

  • Publisher Announcement: from the National Emergency Library Blog 
  • What's Accessible: Over 1,400,000 ebooks across a variety of disciplines
  • How Long?: June 16, 2020 (originally scheduled for June 30, 2020)
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Numérique Premium Ebook Collection (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Numerique Premium, a scholarly publisher of primarily French and English texts, has opened their entire ebook collection for trial evaluation. The Numérique Premium catalogue gives access to 3,500 titles that you can filter by collection, type of books, historical period, publisher, publication date, etc. The full text is accessible online via an integrated PDF reader. For publishing policies' reasons, file download is currently not allowed.

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a direct from publisher
  • What's Accessible: Over 3,500 (mostly French-language) ebooks across a variety of disciplines
  • How Long?: May 25, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Oxford University Press (Higher Education Titles)  (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Oxford University Press is providing temporary access to course textbooks (up to 7) hosted on the RedShelf platform through May 20, 2020.  (See related entry: RedShelf Textbooks below). Note: Individual students must register for a free RedShelf account and select the individual textbooks for online access.

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the OUP Support Site
  • What's Accessible: OUP Course textbooks hosted on RedShelf Platform as well as additional Online Resources and Teaching Materials.
  • How Long?: through May 25, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Project Muse (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Many Project Muse participating publishers have made scholarly content freely available. Publishers included thus far include: Johns Hopkins Press, OSU Press, University of Nebraska Press, UNC Press, Temple University Press, and Vanderbilt University Press. More publishers are expected to be added. As of now, there are over 20,000 available ebooks from a wide variety of academic publishers. 

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the Project Muse Support Site
  • What's Accessible: 20,000+ Books and 200+ Journals from participating publishers  
  • How Long?: varies by publisher, but most free through June 2020. 
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

Royal Society Publishing (all journals) (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

The Royal Society has removed their paywall to all journal content. Journals opened include all of the Philosophical Transactions sections, Proceedings sections, Interface Journals, Biology Letters, as well as other scholarly materials.  For a ful list see this link.  Updated: as of 6/29 only COVID-19-related journal content is available. 

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a notified directly by publisher
  • What's Accessible: Updated: as of 6/29 only COVID-19-related journal content is available. 
  • How Long?: rolling
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

U.S. Documents Masterfile (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

A comprehensive electronic guide to federal, state, local and international public documents, spanning over 200 years of publication, in a single searchable database. Contains two types of records, full bibliographic records and brief records comprised of index terms or pointers to public documents accumulations or catalogs.

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a notified directly by publisher
  • What's Accessible: entire database, 15 million citation with 10 million links to U.S. government texts 
  • How Long?: access expires June 30, 2020 
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

World Scientific Journals (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

World Scientific has generously opened up access to all of their journal content from 2001-Present. World Scientific publishes over 145 journals in a variety of fields--mainly focusing on scientific, technical, and medical subjects.  

  • Publisher Announcement: n/a notified directly by publisher
  • What's Accessible: all journals 2001-Present
  • How Long?: access expires June 30, 2020 
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: Yes
  • How to Access?: direct link

Textbook Resources

Publisher Textbook Access Assistance (All Offers Expired, Access No Longer Available)

The Library has contacted all major textbook publishers used by GU instructors with information provided by the Bookstore to see whether students may access digital versions of books they had already purchased in hard copy. The responses are compiled in this spreadsheet, Publisher Textbook Access Assistance, which the Library will continue to update as they receive further responses.

 

Cambridge University Press Institutional Textbooks (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

Cambridge University Press has opened access to their HTML textbooks (over 700) through June 29, 2020

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the CUP website
  • What's Accessible?: 700 higher education textbooks (in HTML format)
  • How Long?: free access lasts through June 29, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

 

RedShelf Textbooks (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

RedShelf is opening up free access to up to 7 textbooks from a subset of their publishers through May 25, 2020. Individual students must register for a free RedShelf account and select the individual textbooks for online access. Students should refer to the Information for Students help guides for more information.

 

VitalSource Textbooks (Offer Expired, Access No Longer Available)

VitalSource is opening up free access to up to 7 textbooks from a subset of their publishers through May 25, 2020. Individual students must register for a free VitalSource account and select the individual textbooks for online access. Students should refer to the help guides for students for more information.

  • Publisher Announcement: available from the VitalSource Responds support site
  • What's Accessible: textbooks from a subset of VitalSource publishers (including Cengage and Pearson)
  • How Long?: through May 25, 2020
  • Added to HoyaSearch?: No
  • Added to A-Z Databases?: No
  • How to Access?: direct link

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy