Faculty Advisor
Going deeper into South Korea
- GlobalEDGE Trade PortalsCreated by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that cover global resources, market potential index (mpi), database of IB statistics (DIBS), glossary, all countries,US States, all sectors, GlobalEDGE blog, course development tools, research distribution, job banks, diagnostic tools, and information about the metasite.
- U.S. Commercial Service in South KoreaThe U.S. Commercial Service in South Korea assists U.S. exporters by providing market research, trade leads, business matching and promotion through our various trade promotion programs. We also help Korean companies identify potential American business partners, and source U.S. products and services. Our Commercial Officers and Specialists stand ready to guide you, in international business transactions, from initial information gathering to final product delivery.
- Statistics Korea"As a central government organization for statistics, the Statistics Korea aims at prompting services of overall planning and coordination of national statistics, establishment of statistical standards, production & distribution of various economic and social statistics, processing & management of statistical information and provision of various statistical data."
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Paid ads are excluded.
- ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
HoyaSearch
Search across all consortium resources with HoyaSearch! Find books concerns South Korea (Business* OR Econom*)
Core Korean Language Resources
The following databases are available for use by current Georgetown students, staff, and faculty as well as any patrons in Joseph Mark Lauinger Library. When accessing the databases from off-campus, log in with NetID and password. http://www.library.georgetown.edu/off-campus-access
- E-Korean StudiesThe resource consists of 9 databases: Koreanstudies Information Service System (KISS), KSI e-book, KoreaA2Z, Kdatabase, KPjournal, Digital Culture Art Course, Korean History & Culture Research DB, History Culture Series, and LawnB's Legal Information Service.
- DBPia This link opens in a new windowFull text database including over 1,400 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories (Business/Economics, Theology, Education, Sociology, Theology, Natural Science, Humanities, Language and literature, Law/Administration, Artistic and Physical).
- KSI KISSSearchable indexing databases of over 740,000 full-text scholarly journal articles, dissertations and research papers from academic research institutions.
- Naver News LibraryA full-text Korean newspaper article database containing the following four major newspapers:
-Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
-Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
-Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
-Han’gyŏre 한겨레 = The Hankyoreh : 1988-1999
