Al-Monitor offers expert news and commentary on the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. The Pro package includes access to Memos (focused expert analysis on a topic), Newsletters (2x/daily on an industry sector), and Trend Reports (data-driven in-depth reports).
Sermons, writings, personal papers, correspondence, and other documents of the Reverend Joseph Harrison "J. H." Jackson, who served as president of the National Baptist Convention (NBC) for twenty-nine years, from 1953 to 1982. Reverend Jackson had significant influence on the Black church and community during the civil rights era in the United States.
Acquired through a grant from the Resources Legacy Fund to honor Artemis G. Kirk, University Librarian Emeritus, for the library collections in the field of African-American, African and History of Slavery Studies.
Part 1 of the Jackson papers consists of just over 119,000 pages arranged in twelve series and contains nearly all of Jackson's sermons along with speeches and other writings; notes for sermons; correspondence, programs, and planning papers; university and divinity school papers; and topical files relating primarily to Jackson's leadership of Olivet Baptist Church and the National Baptist Convention. This part also includes a few university papers of Jackson's wife, Maude.
Part 2 spans from 1889-2003, with the bulk of the papers ranging from 1950-1990, and is comprised of nearly 250,000 pages arranged in twelve series. Papers provide extensive coverage of the Jackson family's personal and professional lives through correspondence, biographical documents, and the papers of Maude Jackson and Kenny Jackson Williams; of Jackson's tenure at Olivet through administrative and correspondence files; and of Jackson's years at the NBC through presidential records, including significant correspondence, and numerous files documenting the Freedom Farm and affiliated religious organizations.
Current Georgetown faculty and students must sign up for a Replica account using their Georgetown.edu email address. Click on the "Sign Up" tab to create an account.
Replica is a cutting-edge platform that helps users access and visualize data about mobility, land use, and economic activity related to specific geographies. As such, this database is a tool of choice for professionals conducting research on the built-in environment, especially as issues of privacy and geo-located data enter into the professional practice of urban site analysis.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) has tools for every step of the research process in the social sciences, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SRM includes reference entries for hundreds of research methods, over 1,000 books providing in-depth treatments on using various methods, and cases, datasets, and short video demonstrating and applying methods in scholarship.
Sage Research Methods includes: Sage Research Methods: Foundations - brief but expert introductions to hundreds of research methods. Sage Research Methods: Cases - 2,000 case studies of real research projects* Sage Research Methods: Datasets - 500 datasets offering hands-on practice of methods and techniques* *not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy