Skip to main content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Asian Art : Home

A guide for researching Asian art.

Background and Image Resources

Core English Language Resources


Core Japanese Language Resources


The following databases are available for use by current Georgetown students, staff, and faculty as well as any patrons in Joseph Mark Lauinger Library. When accessing the databases from off-campus, log in with NetID and passwordhttp://www.library.georgetown.edu/off-campus-access

Core Chinese Language Article Databases


The following databases are available for use by current Georgetown students, staff, and faculty as well as any patrons in Joseph Mark Lauinger Library. When accessing the databases from off-campus, log in with NetID and passwordhttp://www.library.georgetown.edu/off-campus-access

Art Article Databases

General Databases

If you are having trouble finding what you are looking for above, broaden your search in one of these databases.

Major News Aggregators

Subject Librarian

Ding Ye's picture
Ding Ye
Contact:
37th & O Streets, NW
Washington DC 20057
202-687-7609

Writing & Citing

Art Terminology

Below are definitions of types of resources you may encounter in databases like HoyaSearch, BHA, and ARTbibliographies Modern, including reasons why you might consider using them.

Catalogue raisonné

Exhibition catalogue

Museum catalog (or collection catalog)

Auction (or sales) catalog

  • Document the sale of a given artwork on a specific date.
  • Citations for them sometimes appear in library catalogs, bibliographies, or art-related databases.
  • Often contain such high-quality illustrations that you may be able to examine artists' signatures or other artist marks.
  • Georgetown University Library does not actively collect auction catalogs; however, you will find them in the collections of local museum libraries, like the National Gallery of Art and Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
  • Use ArtNet.com to search for auction records by artist. (Please see a Reference Librarian for password.)

Consult an auction catalog when:

  • You would like to determine the relative monetary value of an artist's work (at the time of the sale).
  • You wish to find an illustration of an artwork that is privately owned.
  • You would like to track the provenance of an object (if the buyers' and sellers' names are included in the auction record).

Monograph

A monograph is a book on a single subject. For the history of art, you will find monographs about artists, individual artworks, movements, time periods, and themes. In databases like BHA, you may encounter citations for particular types of monographs called festschriften - a book of essays written in honor of a scholar. Essays in a festschrift usually focus on subject matter of particular interest to the honored scholar; they are excellent resources for essays on well-defined topics.

Consult an monograph when:

  • You are beginning your research and would like to explore what scholarship is already available on your topic.
  • You would like to expand your own bibliography by examining what sources an author used in his/her research.
  • You are simply interested in learning more about an artist, artwork, movement, period, or theme.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy