If you have questions or would like to schedule a Zoom research consultation, please contact me at email@example.com. I look forward to working with you.
Major Art Resources
The main resources for finding scholarly articles in art history and museum studies are listed on the Art, Art History, & Museum Studies research guide. Depending on your topic and focus, you may need to go beyond these to explore additional research guides.
Search for articles on fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Covers wide range of art journals back to 1984 and indexes dissertations and art reproductions. Art Index Retrospective covers the same material from 1929-1984.
Limited to 8 concurrent users.A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
From Topic to Search
1. What is your research question?
Phrase your topic as a question.
Make your question specific.
Example: In what ways have blockbuster fashion exhibitions built audience engagement with art museum programs, especially with young professionals?
2. Find background information about or context for your research question.