Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Van Doorn Classes

Information literacy instruction for van Doorn's environmental classes.

Welcome!

Welcome to Professor van Doorn's course guide for environmental classes. This guide will introduce you to basic information literacy concepts, beginning database research, and scientific literature. You will also find recommended databases and research guides.

Please contact me with questions you have regarding the research process on this or any research assignment.

What Is a Database?

The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles.  They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.

TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results.  If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors.  They often suggest other good words to use in your search.  Also look for "Find more like this" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).

Recommended Databases

Recommended Research Guides

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy