Skip to main content
Other Relevant Guides
Listing of local, US, and international health data sources, from Georgetown's Dahlgren Medical Library
Statistics Search Engines
A search engine for time-series data, specializing in financial, economic, and social topics. Searches and aggregates data published by hundreds of different sources.
A search engine for data and statistics. Searches for graphs, tables, and charts in PDFs, Excel spreadsheets, etc. Allows you to limit by country, date and file type.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created on-campus and accessed from on-campus at least once every six months to otherwise access ICPSR restricted data off-campus.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.
Data Citation Index
Discover data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and cross-reference them with the scientific literature to track data citation in journals, books, and conference proceedings. Discover international repositories, navigate between related data sets within a repository, and connect to repository records to access data. Coverage includes social sciences, physical sciences, life sciences and arts and humanities from 1900-present. Part of Web of Science
A large collection of social science research data from the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard University.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Google's Dataset Search
Still in Beta, Dataset Search is a single interface for searching across multiple repositories. Google hopes this project "will have the additional benefits of a) creating a data sharing ecosystem that will encourage data publishers to follow best practices for data storage and publication and b) giving scientists a way to show the impact of their work through citation of datasets that they have produced."
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
Mostly scientific data but now includes some humanities and social sciences. Use facets to narrow to datasets. Search by license type (e.g., CC by 4.0), relevance, and popularity.
Open Access Directory's list of repositories
Extensive, multidisciplinary list hosted by School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College
REgistry of REsearch Data REpositories (re3data.org)
A global registry of research data repositories covering multidisciplinary research data
The Dataverse Project
Harvard University's Institute for Quantitative Social Science open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data
Data-PASS (Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences)
Social science data, including opinion polls; voting records; surveys on family growth and income; social network data; government statistics and indices; and GIS data measuring human activity
From the European University Institute, this database compiles publicly available data from over 100 sources
, offering statistical information on globalization, sustainability, and human development. Users can search on a range of topics including income distribution, energy consumption, water resources, dwellings, migration, land use, food production, nutrition, school enrollment, and life expectancy and create data visualizations. From the chart displaying your desired information, see the "i" icon next to the title of that page to learn the data source (e.g., for "Fuel pump prices," it's World Bank, World Development Indicators).
Science Reference Librarian