Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

INAF 100-13: Peace to End all Peace: 1919 and the Middle East

Resources for research assignments, Fall 2020.

Library Updates

Stack of booksYou will be able to access most library resources from wherever you are by logging in with your GU NetID and password. Follow the instructions on the Off Campus Access page for details.

Georgetown University Library Covid-19 Updates & Resources gives the latest information about the library.

Develop new skills in a Library Workshop: view the Fall 2020 schedule.

If you have questions or would like to schedule a Zoom research consultation, please contact me at husseys@georgetown.edu.  I look forward to working with you!

Background

Books

Books as Secondary Sources

  • Search HoyaSearch to find books by keyword, subject, title, or author
    • Select Available Online to limit to ebooks
    • Use "advanced search" to locate specific titles or authors

Books as Primary Sources

Use keywords such as: sources, archives, papers, correspondence, personal narratives, interviews, memoirs, diaries, autobiography, "description and travel"

Examples: Armenian massacres and sources

Search for the writings of key persons. Use Advanced Search in HoyaSearch.

Example:
image of Author search for clayton, gilbert

Clayton, Gilbert Falkingham, and Robert O. Collins. An Arabian Diary. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1969.

Articles & Journals

Note: Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper? Search the publication's title in Journal Finder for online access.

Especially for film studies...

Primary Sources

Find definitions and examples of primary and secondary sources in Start Your Research: Primary Sources. Examples of relevant documents collections, historical newspapers, and archives collections are listed here:

Historical Newspapers

Documents

Archives

Images and Films

Booth Family Center for Special Collections (Lauinger Library)

Healy clock towerThe Booth Family Center for Special Collections is home to Georgetown University’s rare books, manuscript collections, the Georgetown University Archives, and the University Art Collection.  Located on the fifth floor of Lauinger Library, it preserves and protects primary resources and unique items for future generations. Georgetown students are encouraged to take advantage of these collections. For more information, follow the links below:

Georgetown University Archives

Manuscripts

Rare Books

University Art Collection

Other Special Collections at Georgetown

Contact Special Collections

Writing & Citing

RefWorks and Zotero are tools for capturing, organizing, and managing citations. Easily create parenthetical references and works-cited pages. Create your own, free account. Both tools allow you to format citations in almost any style, including APA, Turabian, Chicago, and MLA.

Take advantage of the Georgetown University Writing Center to improve your writing and craft your best work. To book an online appointment, visit writingcenter.georgetown.edu

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy