Baedekers-Uncataloged
AfricaNorth AmericaAsiaEastern EuropeWestern EuropeLatin AmericaWorld/Miscellaneous
Pocket mapsAtlasesMiscellaneous
Pre-18th Century Maps18th Century Maps19th Century Maps20th Century Maps
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Maps at Georgetown University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.georgetown.edu/maps Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Collections Research Center

Georgetown University's Special Collections is located on the 5th floor of Lauinger Library. It is open to all users who present some form of photographic identification and follow our rules. Advance notice of your visit, though not required, is recommended. Please see policies for Entering & Exiting Lauinger Library, as well as other general Library policies. Special Collections polices may be found on the Special Collections Research Center Use Policies website.

Special Collections Research Center Hours:

Monday - Friday 9 am - 5 pm

Closed on Saturdays and Sundays

No new material will be pulled after 4:30 pm.

 

Information available in this guide

This guide purposes to provide information on the Map & Cartography resources that are available in the Special Collections Research Center at Georgetown University's Lauinger Library. While the focus of this finding aid is unprocessed maps in Special Collections, the guide also includes general information on maps and cartography, useful external sources, and resources that can currently be found in GEORGE (the Library's online catalog).  

Highlights:

  • Historical maps (with an emphasis on 18th and 19th century maps)
  • Baedeker Guidebooks
  • Maps in various languages
  • Pocket maps & travel guides

Maps are organized in the following categories.  Each category has related subpages accessible from the tabs. A record may appear on more than one page if several categories apply. 

  • General Resources
  • Baedekers and Other Travel Guides
  • Language
  • Region
  • Type
  • Time Period 
 

How to use this guide

Tabs are provided at the top of this guide to help direct you to the sources you need. 

The General Resources tab contains a bibliography for external resources related to maps and cartography.

There is also a Search tab that will help you with search terminology, as well as WorldCat and Google searches.

Also, please note the Feedback tab. Any feedback that will be useful in the design of this guide will be greatly appreciated.

 

Disclaimer on WorldCat Links

The individual links to maps are associated with a general WorldCat record for the item in order to provide the user more information about the resource. The WorldCat record is closely related to the item in this collection; however, it may differ in some aspects, as this map collection has not been cataloged at this time. Furthermore, a few items do not contain a link, as there was no closely associated record currently in WorldCat. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip