The Cambridge Companion to the Talmud and Rabbinic Literature
by Martin S. Jaffee (Editor); Charlotte Elisheva Fonrobert (Editor)
Call Number: LAU Woodstock Ref 219.2004 F732, C3
Publication Date: 2007-06-04
This volume introduces students of rabbinic literature to the range of historical and interpretative questions surrounding the rabbinic texts of late antiquity. The editors, themselves well-known interpreters of Rabbinic literature, have gathered an international collection of scholars to support students' initial steps in confronting the enormous and complex rabbinic corpus. Unlike other introductions to Rabbinic writings, the present volume includes approaches shaped by anthropology, gender studies, oral-traditional studies, classics, and folklore studies.
The Edinburgh Companion to Modern Jewish Fiction
by David Brauner (Editor); Axel Stähler (Editor)
Call Number: LAU Stacks PS374.J48 E35 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
This collection of essays represents a new departure for, and a potentially (re)defining moment in, literary Jewish Studies. It is the first volume to bring together 28 chapters covering a wide range of American, British, South African, Canadian and Australian Jewish fiction.
Devoted to the "history, languages, literatures, and culture of the Jews from this region and to their contemporary diasporas." Contains internet resources, a listing of Jewish journals in the Islamic world, maps, etc.
See Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how words in Arabic & other non-roman script languages are romanized.
All Brill encyclopedias (EI2, EI3, Ency. of the Qur'an, Ency. Islamica, Ency. of Women & Islamic Cultures, Ency. of Jews in the Islamic World, etc.) can be searched at one time by selecting "all titles" on the search page; to limit your search to only one title, select "this title".
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies
by Peter Hayes (Editor); John K. Roth (Editor)
Call Number: LAU Stacks & Bioethics KIE (Kampelman) D652 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Few scholarly fields have developed in recent decades as rapidly and vigorously as Holocaust Studies. At the start of the twenty-first century, the persecution and murder perpetrated by the Nazi regime have become the subjects of an enormous literature in multiple academic disciplines and a touchstone of public and intellectual discourse in such diverse fields as politics, ethics and religion. Forward-looking and multi-disciplinary, this handbook draws on the work of an international team of forty-seven outstanding scholars. The handbook is thematically divided into five broad sections. Part One, Enablers, concentrates on the broad and necessary contextual conditions for the Holocaust. Part Two, Protagonists, concentrates on the principal persons and groups involved in the Holocaust and attempts to disaggregate the conventional interpretive categories of perpetrator, victim, and bystander. It examines the agency of the Nazi leaders and killers and of those involved in resisting and surviving the assault. Part Three, Settings, concentrates on the particular places, sites, and physical circumstances where the actions of the Holocaust's protagonists and the forms of persecution were literally grounded. Part Four, Representations, engages complex questions about how the Holocaust can and should be grasped and what meaning or lack of meaning might be attributed to events through historical analysis, interpretation of texts, artistic creation and criticism, and philosophical and religious reflection. Part Five, Aftereffects, explores the Holocaust's impact on politics and ethics, education and religion, national identities and international relations, the prospects for genocide prevention, and the defense of human rights.
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Ethics and Morality
by Elliot N. Dorff (Editor); Jonathan K. Crane (Editor)
Call Number: LAU Stacks & Bioethics KIE (Kampelman) BJ1285.2 .O935 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
For thousands of years the Jewish tradition has been a source of moral guidance, for Jews and non-Jews alike. As the essays in this volume show, the theologians and practitioners of Judaism have a long history of wrestling with moral questions, responding to them in an open, argumentative modethat reveals the strengths and weaknesses of all sides of a question. The Jewish tradition also offers guidance for moral conduct in both children and adults, and how to motivate people to do the right thing despite weakness and temptation. The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Ethics and Morality offers a collection of original essays addressing these topics-historical and contemporary, as well as philosophical and practical-by leading scholars from around the world. The first section of the volume describes the history of the Jewishtradition's moral thought, from the Bible to contemporary Jewish approaches. The second part includes chapters on specific fields in ethics, including the ethics of medicine, business, sex, speech, politics, war, and the environment.
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies
by Martin Goodman (Editor); Jeremy Cohen (Contribution by); David Sorkin (Contribution by)
Call Number: LAU Stacks BM70 .O95 2002 & LAU Woodstock Ref 219.07004 G623, O9
Publication Date: 2003-02-20
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies reflects the current state of scholarship in the field as analyzed by an international team of experts in the different and varied areas represented within contemporary Jewish Studies. Unlike recent attempts to encapsulate the current state of Jewish Studies, the Oxford Handbook is more than a mere compendium of agreed facts; rather, it is an exhaustive survey of current interests and directions in the field.
From the Saul Lieberman Institute for Talmudic Research, the Index to References is a bibliography of scholarly and rabbinic literature dealing with specific passages in the entire Talmud. Often used in conjunction with the Talmud Text Database.