- International Encyclopedia of Dance
Biographies of dancers and choreographers, descriptions of ethnic and folk dance, dance steps and techniques, dance companies, and more. Each article includes further reading with links to GU library resources.
- Oxford Dictionary of Dance
Information on a wide range of dance topics.
- Fifty Contemporary Choreographers
GV 1785.A1 F54 2011 (fourth floor, Lauinger)
Biographies of important choreographers plus lists of their works, critical essays, and bibliographies.
Search across print and online encyclopedias.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for journal articles in many subjects including dance. Also useful for performance reviews, news of productions, and interviews.
- Humanities Full Text
Useful for finding journal articles on dance and performance.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years. For more recent articles, use one of the other indexes listed in this section.
- Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
Music and Dance documentaries and talks from Films On Demand
Dance feature films and documentaries in the Gelardin Media Center, Lauinger Library, first floor
Jacobs Pillow Dance Interactive provides excerpts from performances from the 1930's to the present