Health Care Administration

Includes the uninsured and those with low income as well as racial and ethnic minorities and people with chronic conditions. HSC research also documents differences between patients in HMOs and other types of plans, such as differences in the types of barriers to care they face.

The NAMCS samples visits to physician offices. The NHAMCS samples visits to hospitals (outpatient departments and emergency departments). This data isused to statistically describe the patients that utilize physician services and hospital outpatient and emergency department services, the conditions most often treated, and the diagnostic and therapeutic services rendered, including medications prescribed.

Comorbidity software assigns variables that identify comorbidities in hospital discharge records using the diagnosis coding of ICD-9-CM (International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Edition, Clinical Modifications). This document describes the software that creates the comorbidity measures reported by Elixhauser et al.

A family of administrative, longitudinal databases, Web-based products and software tools developed as part of a Federal-State-Industry partnership to build a standardized, multi-state health data system. HCUP data are used for research on hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes.

A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal, state, private organizations, and foundation grants and contracts, HSRProj provides access to information about research in progress before results are available in published form.

HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text is a searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information. For more information read the fact sheet from the National Library of Medicine.

HSC research provides insight into a range of topics, including how health care costs are changing, why the nation's number of uninsured continues to rise and how employer-sponsored coverage is changing. This area also includes analyses of incremental public insurance expansions, both proposed and implemented.

Analyses examine commercial plans as well as plans participating in Medicare+Choice and Medicaid managed care, as well as organizations that have adopted managed care techniques to deliver services to the uninsured. Key analyses compare experiences and outcomes for patients in HMOs and other kinds of plans on such critical dimensions as access, service use, satisfaction, and cost.

National Statistics organized by Diagnosis-Related Group, principal Diagnosis, and by Principal Procedure.

Agency for Health Care Research and Quality.

Manages the nation's social insurance program, consisting of retirement, survivors, and disability insurance programs, commonly known as social security.

A division of the Department of Commerce established to collect census information every ten years.