Search across print and online encyclopedias.
Both of these catalogs can be searched using the search box in the top right corner of any page on the library website.
Check for books on your topic in GEORGE, the library's catalog. Search by keyword, author, title, or subject heading. To find a book by topic, search by Library of Congress Subject Headings, keywords, or try looking up a title you know and click on 'Find Similar Items' to search by the subject headings listed in the book's catalog record.
- GEORGE Discovery
Allows for simultaneous searching of GEORGE (Georgetown's library catalog) and the catalogs of Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC
) libraries. Use the 'Request' button to have items from other libraries or off-campus storage sent to Georgetown, or to have Georgetown items pulled and held for you.
- Example Subject Search in George
if you use the SUBJECT tab - it gives you hints about subjects to search
- Example Subject Search on a Work
SUBJECT Brave New World gets works ABOUT Brave New World (not the book)
- Sample Subject Search on AUTHOR
SUBJECT search on Voltaire gets you works ABOUT Voltaire, (not ones he wrote)
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ProQuest Research Library
Provides indexing, abstracting, and many full-text entries for over 2,800 scholarly and general-interest periodicals. Covers a very broad range of topics and sources.
- Google Scholar
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, select Georgetown under Scholar Preferences/Library Links.)
- America: History & Life
Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
- Film and Television Literature Index
A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Philosopher's Index
The primary index to the literature of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts for books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. For book reviews prior to 1985, use the print version.
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Sociological Abstracts
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. For a tutorial on how to use this resource please see the Sociological Abstracts Advanced Searching
- ATLA Religion Database
Indexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology. The database represents the following print sources: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 -Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years. For more recent articles, use one of the other indexes listed in this section.
- All Databases
- Popular vs. Scholarly Articles