Skip to Main Content

Energy

Recommended Resources

ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Provides access to journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly LexisNexis Environmental and ProQuest Environment Abstracts.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Indexes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials dating from the 16th century to the present. Covers agriculture, food science, human nutrition, life sciences, and natural resources.

Recommended Journals

Data and Statistics

CIESIN: Center for International Earth Science Information Network
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network provides information that would help scientists, decision-makers, and the public better understand the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. CIESIN's focuses on applying state-of-the-art information technology to pressing interdisciplinary data, information, and research problems related to human interactions in the environment.
Country Analysis Briefs
Briefs on energy issues for selected countries and with environmental information for selected countries. These reports from the United States Energy Information Administration examine the energy situation in OPEC (Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries) on-OPEC countries in the politically volatile Persian Gulf region, major non-OPEC oil exporters, and other countries or regions . The publications concentrate on energy outlook and supply but also include overview of each country, recent
World Resources Institute Data
WRI is a global research organization whose work focuses on six critical issues at the intersection of environment and development: climate, energy, food, forests, water, and cities and transport.
EPA - Envirofacts Data Warehouse
This website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
Geological Surveys
A linked list of geological surveys from the United States and around the world maintained by the University of Mainz.
Large Marine Ecosystems of the World
The 50 Large Marine Ecosystems are regions of ocean space encompassing coastal areas from river basins and estuaries to the seaward boundaries of continental shelves and coastal current systems. They are relatively large regions of distinct bathymetry, hydrography, productivity, and trophically dependent populations.
more...less...
Available information includes: maps of the LMEs; descriptions of LMEs including initial information on productivity, fisheries, ecosystem health and pollution, socioeconomic issues, and governance; GIS data (ARC Export format) and FGDC compliant metadata defining LME boundaries; current news on LME research; and contact information for LME experts.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES)
The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) collects, interprets, analyzes, and disseminates objective data on the science and engineering research and activities.
Climate Data Online (NOAA)
The world's largest active archive of weather data. Produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
Trends: A Compendium of Data on Climate Change
The Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC) is the primary climate-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy and includes the World Data Center for Atmospheric Trace Gases. See pop-up bubble for more information.
more...less...
CDIAC's data holdings include records of the atmospheric concentrations of carbon dioxide and other radiatively active gases; the role of the terrestrial biosphere and the oceans in the biogeochemical cycles of greenhouse gases; emissions of carbon dioxide from fossil-fuel consumption and land-use changes; long-term climate trends; the effects of elevated carbon dioxide on vegetation; and the vulnerability of coastal areas to rising sea level.
United Nations - Environmental Statistics - Country Snapshots
Country Snapshots provide a selection of national environment statistics, complemented by key economic and social indicators.
United Nations Atlas of the Oceans
The Atlas is an information system designed for use by policy makers who need to become familiar with ocean issues and by scientists, students and resource managers who need access to underlying data bases and approaches to sustainability.

Websites

Columbia Earthscape: an Online Resource to the Global Environment
Links to papers and conferences, data sets, Web sites and more.
EnviroLink
A clearinghouse on the Internet for the environmental community, run primarily by dedicated volunteers. EnviroLink does not take any positions on any specific environmental issues.
IPL Internet Public Library - Environmental Sciences and Ecology
Location: Collection of links to government, organization, and education sites concerned with the interrelationship of humans and their environment.
WWW Virtual Library - Environment
A searchable index of over 1,000 carefully screened links arranged alphabetically and by category.
EarthPortal
A comprehensive resource for timely, objective, science-based information about the environment. The Earth Portal has three components:
1. The Encyclopedia of Earth, with over 3,500 articles, is produced and reviewed by 1,000 scholars from 60 countries.
2. The Earth Forum provides commentary from scholars and discussions with the general public.
3. The EarthNews offers news stories on environmental issues drawn from many sources
Global Environment Outlook
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) report on environmental and sustainable development issues. The report presents data, analysis, forecasts, and policy responses. Data sets may be downloaded in various formats.
UNEP.Net - Environment Network
"UNEP.Net (United Nations Environment Programme) delivers authoritative environmental information from a broad range of information and data providers committed to making their information freely available to the whole spectrum of users of environmental information."
World Resources Institutes
The climate change and energy site provides information and discussion on policies for the prevention of climate change.
National Science Foundation (NSF) Ultraviolet (UV) Monitoring Network
This site provides information on UV irradiance levels and ozone depletion.
Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC)
CDIAC is the primary global-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). It explores both general and technical aspects of issues related to carbon dioxide, methane, and other trace gas emissions; the carbon cycle; and other climate-change topics..
National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
Features "publications on production practices, alternative crop and livestock enterprises, innovative marketing, organic certification, and highlights of local, regional, USDA and other federal sustainable ag activities."

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy